Two Bloggers One Book ~ The Hunting Party

April 18, 2019 Book Reviews 9

Two Bloggers One Book ~ The Hunting Party

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley
Genres: Thriller
Published by William Morrow on February 12, 2019
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.
All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.
During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.
They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.
Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.
The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.
Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.
Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

So we switched up books at the beginning of the month as I just wasn’t in the mood for the other one. So since Barb had picked up and read The Hunting Party and wanted me to read it so we could talk about it we went with it. I do think she enjoyed it more than I did but then she does better with atmospheric reads than I do. 🙂 So go check out her review after you read mine!

What I thought

It’s about a group of friends who had all met when they went to Oxford together years ago. Since then they have met once a year to celebrate the new year. Emma books them a trip to a lodge in Scotland for the weekend. It’s told in the point of view of three from the group, Emma, Miranda and Katie and then the lodge manager and groundskeeper. When it’s the ones from the group it’s usually what happened prior to the one that goes missing. When it’s the lodge manager and groundskeepers it’s in the present and after the body has been found.

To be honest I am not sure how these people remained friends as they are all seriously messed up! Especially Miranda she was  horrid. I think the only characters I liked where Heather and Doug from the lodge. I don’t think you were really supposed to like any of those from the group. They were thirty somethings trying to act like they were back in Oxford. Drinking all the time, playing a game of truth or dare.

I wasn’t really impressed with this one but it wasn’t horrible either. I liked how the author didn’t reveal who was killed or who the murderer was up until about the last 10 to 15% so it really took some thinking to try and solve things. I figured out who was killed pretty early on but I was off on who the killer was. There were several who would have fit the bill for that one so kudos to the author for that.

Overall, it was just okay as at times it really bored me and I wanted to DNF but then I was really curious as to who died so I kept going and I am not disappointed that I kept going but it just wasn’t a big grabber of a book. I do think I would give the author another try.

Share

9 Responses to “Two Bloggers One Book ~ The Hunting Party”

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads) @Booker T's Farm

    I knew you’d rate it lower than me. Atmospheric reads do tend to bite you more than me. I think lots of people could have died and perhaps the murderer should have went on a killing spree. I did like the formatting though. And hey, another Netgalley book you can check off.

    • Stormi

      Yep, that is one thing that we don’t have in common though I like atmosphere I need a little more action. 🙂

  2. Sophia Rose

    I like this type now and then, but I struggle when I don’t like the characters even if that is the intention of the author. Neat how it kept you guessing to the end.

    • Stormi

      Yeah, it was interesting to a point and I can see others enjoying it more than I did.

    • Stormi

      Yeah, it wasn’t real original. I think not figuring out who done it was the best part and looking back I feel as if I should have known…lol.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.