Two Bloggers One Book ~In the Valley of the Sun

March 28, 2019 Book Reviews 6

Two Bloggers One Book ~In the Valley of the Sun

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

In the Valley of the Sun: A Novel by Andy Davidson
Genres: Horror
Published by Skyhorse on March 5, 2019
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Author

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A finalist for the 2017 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel. 
An addictive Western literary horror for fans of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and Anne Rice.
One night in 1980, a man becomes a monster.
Haunted by his past, Travis Stillwell spends his nights searching out women in West Texas honky-tonks. What he does with them doesn’t make him proud, just quiets the demons for a little while. But after Travis crosses paths one night with a mysterious pale-skinned girl, he wakes weak and bloodied in his cabover camper the next morning—with no sign of a girl, no memory of the night before.
When motel-owner Annabelle Gaskin offers the cowboy a few odd jobs to pay his board, he takes her up on the offer. By day, he mends the old motel, insinuating himself into the lives of Annabelle and her ten-year-old son. By night, in the cave of his camper, he fights an unspeakable hunger. Before long, Annabelle and her boy come to realize that Travis is not what he seems.
Half a state away, a grizzled Texas Ranger is hunting Travis for his past misdeeds, but what he finds will lead him to a revelation far more monstrous. A man of the law, he’ll have to decide how far into the darkness he’ll go for the sake of justice.
When these lives converge on a dusty autumn night, an old evil will find new life—and new blood.

Hey it’s time for another buddy read post! Today Barb and I have a book we both fought to finish so at least I know it wasn’t just me!!! 🙂 Once you read my thoughts go see what she had to say I bet it’s going to be fun!

Here is what I thought

So I feel kind of bad writing this review because there are some bloggers out there who really liked this one and hope I would too but I didn’t. There was several times I wanted to just DNF it but I kept hoping it would be better but it didn’t.

When I think of a vampire horror story I think of lots of blood drinking, killing action but I think  Travis was the worst vampire type creature there ever was as he hardly ever did anything. If anything I think this was more a badly done mystery than vampire horror.

Travis is a murderer and deserved to be turned into a creature as he picked up the wrong woman one night. Then he ends up at this run down motel where a woman and her son live and run the the place. She lets him stay with his camper there as long as he does some odd jobs. He could be out in the sun though it seemed to make his skin kind of weird.

The way the author describe this guy I had a hard time believing a woman with a kid would let the creepy guy stay anywhere near them, but she does.

Then there are the Rangers who are trying to find the guy doing the murders and we find out how stupid of a criminal Travis really was as it didn’t take them long to figure out who the killer was and track him down.

The most action probably came in the last 15 pages of the story, but for me most it was mostly just really boring. I think it could have been cut down by a hundred pages. It was mostly about Travis hanging out with the woman and kid while the Rangers are tracking him while he fights off Rue (the woman who turned him and wants him to eat someone).

It has a really good rating on Goodreads so people have liked but I just couldn’t get into it and I really don’t see what everyone sees in it. I didn’t even like how it ended. Definitely just not a book for me.

Share

6 Responses to “Two Bloggers One Book ~In the Valley of the Sun”

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    I didn’t even mention it but you have a point. I don’t know why Annabelle let Travis hang around her and her child for so long. But as a character she was so confused and questioning of life I don’t even think it dawned on her that he was creepy. At least we still have Kate and Curran 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.