Two Bloggers, One Book ~Audiobook review of The Boy at the Keyhole

October 25, 2018 Audiobook Reviews, Book Reviews 5

Two Bloggers, One Book ~Audiobook review of The Boy at the KeyholeThe Boy at the Keyhole by Stephen Giles
Length: 6 hours and 49 minutes
Genres: YA, Thriller, Mystery
Published by Hanover Square Press on September 4, 2018
Pages: 272
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

An electrifying debut in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, about a British boy who, after his mother is abruptly called away to America, begins to suspect that perhaps she did not leave, but was murdered—by the housekeeper who cares for him in the family's isolated country estate.
Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once great estate in Surrey with the family’s housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for five months, purportedly tending to her late husband’s faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.
Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel’s life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.
As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave, but was murdered—by Ruth.
Channeling the masterful suspense of Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca and the haunting, claustrophobic atmosphere of the works of Shirley Jackson, The Boy at the Keyhole is an electrifying debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur amid tightly knit quarters.

Welcome to another edition of Two Bloggers, One Book where Barb and I read a book and both talk about it on our blogs. This time we chose The Boy at the Keyhole. Head on over to Booker T’s Farm and check out her review after you look at mine. 😉

Here is what I thought

I am not sure what I thought I might find in the pages of this book but I don’t think it is what I found. 🙁

It’s about a young boy Samuel who is worried about his mother who has gone off on business and been gone for about 5 months. His housekeeper Ruth has been looking after him. Now she is not a very nice person but she is taking care of a little brat so I guess I might act like her too…lol.

One of Samuels friends puts a little seed of doubt in his mind about how the housekeeper probably killed his mom and hid her body. This makes Samuel start wondering a lot about what happened to her as she has been gone for so long, so he starts snooping into things and accusing the housekeeper which in turn makes her very upset.

So what happened? Well what happened was a boring book with characters that I couldn’t stand and an ending that was just not that great and to top it off something happens to an animal which further ticked me off but I was already pretty bored with this to begin with so by the time that happened I was pretty much done.  I will say the ending twisted differently than I thought it would but at the same time it wasn’t a good ending.

Also, I have a hard time believing this is an adult psychological thriller as it’s about a young boy. So I am putting it in the YA category and it really is the most non thrilling thriller I have read this year.

During this whole book both Barb and I was not feeling it so I am sure we will have similar thoughts but I am curious to see her review!

Narrator:

Joel Froomkin is a new to me narrator and I enjoyed his narration overall. I actually probably liked it more than the book itself.

Audio: 3.5

Share

5 Responses to “Two Bloggers, One Book ~Audiobook review of The Boy at the Keyhole”

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    So we had similar thoughts and I’m surprised you gave it a 3.5. Usually you’re much harder on books than me (haha!). Well, we were curious so at least we satisfied that. Next month will be better!

Leave a Reply to Laura Thomas Cancel reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.