The Week In Review #117

October 14, 2018 Memes 9

BMR,OHMy (1)The Week in Review is where I combine Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post and It’s Monday! What are you reading?  If you have never joined in on these meme’s you can check them out by clicking on the meme and it will take you to the host blog.

Um, so what happened to fall? You know that season that comes in between summer and winter!!!!!! I want it back NOW! 🙁 It has been nothing but rainy and cold here most of the week and I don’t like it. #Iwantsummerback

Other than complaining about the cold weather I got nothing this week. Just working on my class stuff.

Happy reading!

What you might have missed on my blog

Books I have added

Told you my will power wouldn’t hold out! Seems a few of my request came in this week. 😉

Netgalley/Edelweiss

    
  • Murder Once Removed – S.C. Perkins’ Murder Once Removed is the captivating first mystery in the Ancestry Detective series, in which Texas genealogist Lucy Lancaster deals with murders in both the past and present. I am really interested in this and how she solves murders in the past and present!! First in series. (Comes out March 2019)
  • Chocolate a la Murder – Maddie gets rattled by a candy-coated murder. In this one she gets a Mexican whisk that rattles when someone lies! I really enjoy this series and can’t wait to read this one! 4th book in series. (Comes out March 2019)
  • A Beautiful CorpseAnother pulse-pounding suspenseful thriller featuring crime reporter Harper McClain. I missed where it said this was book two…sighs. Oh well, it still sounds pretty cool. (Comes out March 2019) Second in series.
  • Deadfall – Twin brothers Ty and Cory Bic are on the run. When they encounter a dying deer in the middle of a remote mountain road with fresh tire tracks swerving down into a ravine, they know they have to help. But when they reach the wrecked car the vehicle appears empty, with signs that the driver escaped. Until they hear a sound coming from the trunk. Sounds like a creepy cool one! 🙂 (Comes out December 2018)
  • Who Killed the Fonz – The legendary 1950s-era TV show Happy Days gets reinvented as a gritty 1980s noir. Retellings like this are awesome, but will admit I am a little bummed they killed the Fonz, couldn’t they have killed Pottsy…lol. Comes out Feb. 2019)

Yes, that was a big haul of review books but at least four are for next year!

Library 

  
  • Due or Die – Book two in the Library Lover’s Mystery series. I really enjoyed book one so couldn’t wait to get another!
  • Trail of Lightning – A native American monster hunting dystopian kind of book sounds cool to me. 🙂
  • The Boy at the Keyhole – An electrifying debut in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, about a British boy who, after his mother is abruptly called away to America, begins to suspect that perhaps she did not leave, but was murdered—by the housekeeper who cares for him in the family’s isolated country estate.

Books read last week

   
  • Feed – Zombie type book. I know everyone likes this one but I was bored and not much zombie action at all. 🙁 Not big into political conspiracy type things.
  • Dark Screams – Not a short story person and the only ones interesting where the first one and the last one.
  • Something Wicked This Way Comes – Pretty messed up carnival and a decent read.
  • Something Wicked – British crime novel about a PI who finds missing people and gets more than the bargains for when trying to find Nicholas. It kind of bored me till about halfway and then I got really interested. So overall it was decent.

Currently reading

  

What might be up next

 

How was your week? What did you get?

Share

9 Responses to “The Week In Review #117”

  1. Greg

    Totally the same- we’ve had so much rain and the temps plunged rather than easing down nice and gradually haha.

    Trail of Lightning looks amazing.

  2. Carole @ Carole's Random Life in Books

    It has been cold here! My daughter went to Homecoming last night and I felt really bad for the girls outside for pictures in their short dresses while I was wearing my winter coat. Looks like you added a great pile of books to keep you busy. I am quite tempted by the Fonz book after seeing it on Barb’s blog last week. Have a great week!

  3. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    Deadfall sounds awesome. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I’m also glad to see you continuing on with the Library Lovers series. I think you get to meet her pup in this one. I’m with you on Fall. Seems we didn’t get a Spring and now we’re not gonna get a Fall either 🙁 I agree they should have killed Potsie but I definitely can’t see it gathering much attention. However, even without reading more than the synopsis, I don’t think The Fonz is really dead.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.