Review of You May Now Kill the Bride

August 9, 2018 Book Reviews 5

Review of You May Now Kill the Bride

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

You May Now Kill the Bride by R.L. Stine
Genres: Horror, YA
Published by HarperTeen on July 24, 2018
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

NEW Fear Street stories with a retro look, perfect for fans of Stranger Things!
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment she can barely contain.
Two Fear family weddings, decades apart... Each bride will find that the ancient curse that haunts the Fears LIVES ON. It feeds off the evil that courses through their blood. It takes its toll in unexpected ways, and allows dark history to repeat itself.
In this all-new Fear Street story, family ties bind sisters together—till DEATH do they part.
 

Also by this author: Zombie Halloween, Don't Stay Up Late, The Lost Girl (Fear Street Relaunch, #3)

Here is what I thought

These days R.L. Stine is kind of hit or miss and well with this one it was a bit of a miss.

First of all I think the blurb for this one is not a good one at all and it was what lead to a lot of my confusion as it says two sisters divided by time and that is only like a little tiny piece of the book so I kept waiting for something strange to happen. It made me think there was time travel of some sort. It was just confusing to me.

It starts out in 1923 with two sisters and we learn about the Fears and how they are cursed. It is said that a Fear couldn’t marry a Goode and live. The fears seem to have this anger growing inside them and it comes out with these two sisters in different ways and doesn’t go well for them.

Then it takes you to present day and another two sisters. Marrisa is getting married and she wants to get married on the cliff that is not really a great place as her father thinks it’s a cursed place, but she thinks it’s beautiful. The sister’s don’t get alone and during the reception Harmony plays some jokes on everyone. Harmony found the family spell book and does some fun things to make everyone panic. Her grandfather knows she done it and gets on to her, she feels bad so she wants to talk to her sister. They have a nice talk but the next day she is gone. Her grandfather thinks she might have done something but she swears she hasn’t. Time goes on and her sister still doesn’t show up and Harmony knows something is wrong as she keeps getting a note to not come looking for her. I can’t really say any more than that or it would spoil things.

I don’t know, I thought for the most part this book was confusing and kinda boring. It did have some fun parts and I was curious to see how it all ended and I did like the ending okay though it seem to wrap things up really quickly. I can’t say that I cared much for any of the characters but I do think it was fun getting to know the family that the street is named after.

This one just didn’t impress me and I was hoping for a little more scare or at least some spookiness and this didn’t deliver. 🙁

Share

5 Responses to “Review of You May Now Kill the Bride”

    • Stormi

      Lot of reviews seem to like it more than me but maybe they were younger as it is a teen book and it felt spookier to them but I didn’t even feel it was spooky at all. 🙁

    • Stormi

      Yeah, covers great and I like a lot of his stuff but thought this one just wasn’t up there with his other works.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.