Review of Weird Kid

Posted August 19, 2021 by Stormi in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

Review of Weird Kid

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Weird Kid by Greg Van Eekhout
Genres: Middle Grade, Mystery, Science Fiction
Published by HarperCollins on July 20, 2021
Pages: 208
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.
Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.
Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course).
Things feel like they’re going his way when he survives his first day of school without transforming and makes a new friend. But when mysterious sinkholes start popping up around town—sinkholes filled with the same extraterrestrial substance as Jake—and his neighbors, classmates, and even his family start acting a little, well, weird, Jake will have to learn to use his powers in order to save his town. 

Here is what I thought

Jake is trying to stay under the radar because he is not from this world, but he is tired of not being able to be a normal kid and wants to go to middle school. His human parents were worried that he might be found out, see they found him one night when they seen something fall from the sky. They thought it was a meteor but what they found was a strange pile of goo, this goo turned out to be Jake. When the man touch it the goo turned into a baby and they took him home and raised him. Jake can shapeshift into all sorts of things and he isn’t good at controling it and sometimes it just happens.

Jake meets Agnes on his first day and they fast become friends. Agnes is an interesting girl who  is very much into science things and a comic book character that has no superpowers but still a hero and kind wants to be like her. So Jake and her get along pretty good. They noticed a sinkhole one day and Agnes mentions they have been popping up around town, they see some goo, Jake notices the goo looks like what he was made of and gets worried. Agnes takes sample and soon they are involved in a mystery about the goo, some not so nice scientist and when everyone around them starts acting really weird, Jake has to embrass his unique shapeshifting abilities to save them.

I liked Jake and Agnes they were to very interesting characters. I especially liked Agnes because she was just a really strange but smart kid. She has some great dialogue at times!

This book was fun, a bit quirky but overall enjoyable!

Please follow and like us:
Share

Tags:

Divider

6 responses to “Review of Weird Kid

Leave a Reply