Review of The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

June 23, 2016 Book Reviews 8

Review of The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper by Annabelle Fisher, Natalie Andrewson
Genres: Middle Grade
Published by Greenwillow Books on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendent of Mother Goose, and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff.
Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguishes this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff.

Also by this author: Pixie Piper and the Matter of the Batter

First Line

When the Renaissance Faire came to town, Mom announced we had to go.

What I thought of this book

A delightful book about the descendant of Mother Goose!

Pixie lives in Winged Bowl in a house called Acorn Cottage. That wouldn’t be so bad if her Uncle Bottoms (not really her uncle) didn’t have a museum of toilets down close to her house. She grew up with the name Princess Potty. Now Pixie always knew she was a bit different from everyone else, as rhymes came easy to her, but she didn’t realize how different until after her first encounter with a  Goose Girl.

After that her mother explains that she is a descendant of Mother Goose and that she had always hoped to be a Goose Girl but it never happened. So she really hopes that her daughter gets to be one but Pixie is not sure if she wants to be one. Then one day when her and her friend Gray was in the woods they find a goose egg.

So while other kids had dogs for pets Pixie ends up with a Goose named Destiny. That is when strange things starts to happen and if you want to know what that is you must read the book. 🙂

Now I will admit that at first I wasn’t real fond of Pixie. She let what others thought get to her and it almost ruins her friendship with a boy named Gray. She was rather rude to him one  day and I don’t blame him for what he did afterwards and it took some time for Gray to come back around. She does learn a lot along the way and I started liking her and she is a very interesting girl.

I love Aunt Doris, who is a goose girl. She is the one who helps Pixie find her way through what was happening to her and she was a lot of fun! Also all the other secondary characters were really good and though I am not sure if it might be a series, I think it would make a  cute one as I am kind of curious what will happen to Pixie and friends.

This book was a lot of fun and I would recommend it for any young reader boy or girl, especially if they are into poems because it has some really cute and fun poems within the story.

Here is a sample of the poems in the story.

“Hope is contagious,

But not a disease.

It won’t make you cough, ache, itch,

Upchuck or sneeze.

It’s not like a yawn

or a tune that you hum.

It’s the feeling you’re waiting

for good things to come.”

Reading Challenge

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Netgalley/Edelweiss Challenge 2016
  • New Release Challenge 2016
Share

8 Responses to “Review of The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper”

    • Stormi

      The poems were so much fun and when they come from Pixie they hold power. 🙂

    • Stormi

      It was super cute! 🙂 The poems were fun and powerful coming from Pixie as it was her power. 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.