Review of The Replaced|TBR List #review

April 25, 2015 Book Reviews 4

Review of The Replaced|TBR List #review

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Replaced by Kimberly Derting
Genres: Science Fiction, YA
Published by HarperTeen Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Goodreads

Romantic and action-packed, The Replaced is the gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy.

Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now, on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted—all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive but is in the hands of a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, Kyra knows it's a risk to go after him. What if it's a trap? And worse, what if the returned Tyler isn't the same boy she lost?

Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series, The Replaced is both chilling and explosive, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills that will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.

Also by this author: The Taking

First Line

Dead. Or rather, like I was dying.

What I thought of this book

So even though I am a fan of this author, I am not a huge fan of this series. When I read The Taking I thought it was just okay, but then those last few percentages of the book had me needing to know what happened next. Well, the second book was still just meh until that last 15% and I still must continue to find out what happens. I just wish I found the rest of the book more interesting. If you haven’t read the first one, there will be spoilers in this review cause it’s kind of hard to not to but I tried to keep it spoiler free.

It starts off a little bit after how it left off from the first book. Kyra is with Simon and the other Returned and they decide to try and find Tyler. They think the No-suchers have him at a daylighter facility and so Simon, Kyra and a few others break in to see if they can find him.

This lands them in a lot of trouble and now they are on the run and can’t go back to their camp so they head to another returned camp where they are not real welcome. Griffin is not real happy to see Simon or Thom, nor is she all that happy to see Kyra. Kyra finds out more about her DNA and why she is so much more different than the others. She heals faster, she can move things with her mind, see in the dark, some times her eyes glow, etc. She is a replaced, a new breed of the returned. She is what the agents want more than the returned.

There is a bit of a love triangle forming in this book. It wasn’t in the first one but now there it is and it’s a little strange. Kyra loves Tyler, but he is missing.  Simon likes Kyra and tries to tell her that it’s better if she just moves on cause they don’t know what happened to Tyler. Well, you will just have to see what happens..lol. I just really hate love triangles and wish for once I could read a YA book without it.

Overall, I just thought this book was okay. It just didn’t have enough action until the end to wrap me up and wow me. But the ending left me wanting to know what was going to happen next. If you are into sci-fi/YA novels you might like this series. I know a lot of bloggers who loved The Taking, so they will probably love this one too. Just not me.

Others in the series:

Reading Challenge

Share

4 Responses to “Review of The Replaced|TBR List #review”

    • Stormi

      I wasn’t a huge fan of the first one, but some times the second books is better but for me it wasn’t it was still about the same as the first one. If you loved the first one you might have a different opinion of this one than me. 🙂 I wouldn’t pay that much for an ebook either!! Put it on your amazon wishlist and check from time to time to see if price goes down that is what I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.