Review of The Reluctant Duchess

November 26, 2015 Book Reviews 4

Review of The Reluctant Duchess

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen
Genres: Historical Romance
Published by Loveswept on November 10th 2015
Pages: 265
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations.
Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her dull provincial life by her cousin’s murder. Now that the killer seems to be targeting her, Sara seeks help from the man who was once her cousin’s fiancé, Gabriel Ferguson, Duke of Rossmoyne. With his towering frame and fiery personality, Ross cuts an intimidating figure. Living under his protection, however, has its own hazards—like the sudden urge Sara feels to take their relationship in new, exquisitely inappropriate directions.
Dazzled by the social graces of his betrothed, Ross never noticed her shy, blushing cousin. Looking at Sara now, though, he’s drawn to her lovely eyes and calm disposition. Funny how a year away from the hustle and bustle of the tonchanges a man. But Ross has no intention of allowing a woman to interfere with his plan to return overseas. He will simply capture the murderer and set sail once again. The problem is, with her beguiling lips and heavenly touch, Sara makes him never want to leave home—or his bed—again.

Also by this author: Loving the Earl

First Line

“Lady Sara Emerson to see you, Your Grace.”

Gabriel Ferguson, the Duke of Rossmoyne, cracked an eye open and quickly slammed it shut.

What I thought of this book

SWOON  ROMANCE  ARCREVIEW  historical

The Reluctant Duchess was a swoon worthy read even without a lot of heat.

Sara has been receiving some really scary notes from someone claiming to know exactly what happened to her cousin Meredith who was murdered two years ago. She goes to the Duke of Rossmoyne because he was Meredith’s betrothed at the time of her murder and he once said that if she needed help to call on him.

Ross never thought he would have Sara call on him asking a favor but when he sees the trouble she is in he invites her to stay at him home. His mother is there so it would not be improper. He can’t help but keep comparing the differences in Sara and Meredith. Sara is more quiet and reserved while Meredith was the bell of the ball. Though the more he gets to know Sara the more he comes to like her.

After sharing on unexpected kiss with Ross it is just about all Sara can think about and she knows she shouldn’t be thinking about it as he is a duke. She could never be a duchess because she really hates going to balls and being social. She would prefer to be in the shadows and people watch or just stay at home and read books.

Ross will have a hard time trying to convince the shy Sara that she would make a perfect duchess.

I really liked the characters in this story. Sara is really shy and reserved and nothing like her cousin. Sara sort of feels like she lives in the shadow of her cousin who was so outgoing. She is resigned to not marrying and taking care of her father because she is convinced that he needs her too. She is really sweet and has a soft spot for the children of the poor.

Ross is a handsome duke who had to take on the responsibilities really early. He was I think fourteen or fifteen when he became duke. When he was with Meredith he was very social but after her death he went to India to cope with things and came home a different person. It’s that person who finds Sara’s quiet reserve very refreshing even though he keeps comparing her to Meredith. He has always blamed himself her death and he needs closure just as much as Sara and her family. He may have thought he loved Meredith but after meeting Sara he realizes he was more in awe of Meredith than in love. He is defiantly swoon worthy. 🙂

Overall, I really enjoyed this one and if you like historical romances then you should give it a try.

Reading Challenge

Share

4 Responses to “Review of The Reluctant Duchess”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.