Review of The Haunting of Henry Davis

July 11, 2019 Book Reviews 4

Review of The Haunting of Henry Davis

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Haunting of Henry Davis by Kathryn Siebel
Genres: Middle Grade
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on July 2, 2019
Pages: 240
Source: Publisher

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Two kids are about to find out that their lives are anything but ordinary when a ghost arrives and stirs up adventure. Perfect for fans of A Tale Dark and Grimm!
Ghosts only haunt when they've left something behind...When Henry Davis moves into the neighborhood, Barbara Anne and her classmates at Washington Carver Elementary don't know what to make of him. He's pale, small, odd. For curious Barbara Anne, Henry's also a riddle--a boy who sits alone at recess sketching in a mysterious notebook, a boy, she soon learns, who's being haunted by a ghost named Edgar.
With the help of some new friends, this unlikely duo is off on an adventure to discover who Edgar was while alive and why he's haunting Henry now. Together, they might just help Edgar find what he needs to finally be at peace.

Here is what I thought

Although I thought it has a bit of a slow start The Haunting of Henry Davis turned out to be a cute book about friendship.

The story is told from Barbara Anne’s POV about how she first met Henry Davis and how they became friends. Barbara Anne is a force to be reckoned with and Henry I believe for the most part was just along for the ride…lol.

When Barbara Anne is just first getting to know Henry she finds out that he is harboring a secret, but then really all of her cubicle mates are in some ways. His might be the most interesting as he is being haunted by the ghost of Edgar a young boy who died of the spanish flu.

It does get sightly spooky at times as they try and figure out why Edgar is haunting Henry, why he is still hanging around, etc. The more they learn about him they also learn a little about WWI and the flu epidemic and how it all came about. The reluctantly befriend an older lady who was actually friends with Edgar when they were little.

Barbara learns a lot but not just about Edgar, but about Zack and Renee her other cubicle mates from school and the secrets they have that makes them act the way that they do. She also learns a lot about herself and how she can be a little bossy at times.

I really liked all the characters in the story and they each have their own little problems that they are dealing with from anger to grief. By the end of the story I really liked them all as it just took getting to know them all a bit better just like Barbara Anne did.

I really liked that it teaches some history about WWI and the Spanish flu outbreak as I am sure kids today don’t know a lot about that and how it affected many people. I like stories that teach me something especially when I know kids will be reading it. I also liked the story of friendship.

Overall, I think it is a great book for young readers with a little added paranormal spookiness mixed in.

Share

4 Responses to “Review of The Haunting of Henry Davis”

Leave a Reply to Barb (boxermommyreads) @Booker T's Farm Cancel reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.