Blog tour: Review of The Duke’s Quandary

March 10, 2014 Book Reviews, Review Archive 1

Blog tour: Review of The Duke’s Quandary

I received this book for free from PDF in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

by Callie Hutton
Genres: Historical Romance, Romance
Published by Scandalous Source: PDF

About the Book

Title: THE DUKE’S QUANDARY

Author: Callie Hutton

EBook: 285 pages

Release Date: March 10, 2014

ISBN: 978-1622664641

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble

 

London 1814...

Drake, Duke of Manchester is searching the Marriage Mart for a perfect bride. He wants a woman who is poised, sophisticated, and worthy of the title Duchess. But most of all, he wants a woman who does not want the useless emotion of love.

Socially awkward Miss Penelope Clayton isn't meant for marriage. A serious botanist, she has no desire to wed, so being forced by her guardian to participate in the Season to find a husband is torture. She'll never fit in with the ton, especially if they discover she's been pretending to be a man within the scientific community.

As Drake's family makes over Penelope, turning her from naive bluestocking to enchanting debutante, he is put upon to introduce her to society and eligible bachelors. Despite dance lessons and new gowns, Penelope is the opposite of poised and sophisticated as she stumbles from one mishap to the next. Why then, does he find it so hard to resist her?

Tour Schedule

 

Week One:

3/10/2014- Books, Movies, Reviews. Oh my!- Review

3/10/2014- book's blog- Guest Post

3/11/2014- Bitten by Romance- Review

3/11/2014- Dawn's Reading Nook- Interview

3/12/2014- Margay Leah Justice - Review

3/12/2014- Ex Libris- Guest Post

3/13/2014- Dear Brighton- Review

3/13/2014- Rookie Romance- Interview

3/14/2014- Talking Books Blog- Review

3/14/2014- Living Between Books- Review

 

Week Two:

3/17/2014- Fade Into Fantasy- Interview

3/18/2014- Romantic Reads and Such- Interview

3/18/2014- Suzi Love- Review

3/19/2014- Toot's Book Reviews- Guest Post

3/19/2014- Cocktails and Books- Interview

3/20/2014- The La La Land of Books- Review

3/20/2014- Becky on Books- Review

3/20/2014- Ramblings From This Chick- Guest Post

3/21/2014- First Page to the Last- Review

3/21/2014- Manga Maniac Café- Interview

I had a little bit of a mixed reaction to The Duke’s Quandary. I enjoyed the story line well enough, I mean who doesn’t like a wallflower type who becomes the belle of the ball. It was just the Penelope was a little to whiny and juvenile for me to really love her. At the very beginning of the novel when she comes running in the house all squealing cause she discovered some new plant I thought she was a little kid not a woman of marrying age.  I also that she is a bit backwaters and spent most of her time alone and doesn’t know much about societies ways or social graces so I tried to like her.  Eventually I did come to like her, but not as much as I would have liked.

Penelope was raised by her father who is a botanist. He didn’t have a son so he taught Penelope all about botany, but he should have had someone teach her about being a lady. When her father died she was brought from the colonies back to England by her Aunt and Uncle. Though they just pretty much left her by herself and didn’t do much to help her become some one of social standing. Then all of a sudden her Aunt decides that she will have a coming out and wants her to go stay with her  friends and learn to be a lady and go to balls and have her season. Penelope would rather stay in the country with her plants than attend a ball.

Drake, Duke of Manchester wants to find the perfect lady to be his duchess. He feels that he needs some one who is poise, charming, sophisticated and knows her place in society. He thinks this is what he needs to prove that he can make a good Duke. First impressions of Penelope and her actions make him sort of laugh and embarrasses her.  Drake’s mother wants him to help her along with the girls make Penelope be what she needs to be to have a good season. His mother wants him to make sure her dance card is full. What he wasn’t suppose to do was kiss her in the gardens.

Drake doesn’t want someone who has her hands in the dirt all the time, clumsy and doesn’t know much about social graces. So why can’t he keep his hands off of Penelope when he should be looking for that perfect lady.

Though I did like the story line I also got a little aggravated at the way Drake behaved. I didn’t like the way he always made Penelope feel like she would never be good enough. There was times that I liked him and times that I didn’t and it was the same with Penelope, so I never really feel in love with the two main characters. I really liked Drake’s mother and sisters and thought they were great secondary characters.

If you like historical romances then you will probably enjoy this one, it just wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. I would still be willing to try another book from this author.

CallieAbout Callie:

Callie Hutton always knew those stories she made up in her head would be written down one day. There was nowhere else for them to go. After years of writing articles and interviews for magazines and company newsletters, she decided to tackle writing a book. That was back in 2010. Now with twelve books under her belt, and seven more contracted, the relief at having somewhere to tell those stories is wonderful. She lives in Oklahoma with her husband, adult children and three dogs.

Website /Twitter/Facebook/Goodreads

 

TDQ drawing-GiveawayGiveaway Details:

1 necklace and a pair of earrings US Only (attach photo)

Rafflecopter Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rafflecopter link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjE2Mw==/

 

Share

One Response to “Blog tour: Review of The Duke’s Quandary”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.