Review of The Burning

June 10, 2014 Book Reviews, Review Archive 2

Review of  The Burning

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Burning by Jane Casey
Series: Maeve Kerrigan #1
Genres: Crime, Murder, Suspense
Published by Minotaur Books Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It’s the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London’s parks. And now there’s a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve’s empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?

Maeve’s frenetic hunt for a killer in Jane Casey’s gripping series debut will entrance even the most jaded suspense readers.

Also by this author: How to Fall

First Thoughts: Not quite as fast paced as I was hoping, but it was a good crime novel.

This is my first novel by British author Jane Casey and her series with DC Kerrigan. All though at times it had me a little confused and the pacing wasn’t as fast as I would have hoped I still enjoyed it enough to try another novel.

DC Kerrigan is the only woman on The Burning Man case and she takes a lot of crap from her teammates. When a new victim shows up but the MO is just a little off from The Burning Man, Superintendent Godley wants Kerrigan to take it on. Godley and Kerrigan are the only two who think that it could be a copy cat killer. DCI Judd, doesn’t see it that way and he is not a fan of Kerrigan’s so he pretty much tells her to do what ever but he didn’t think she was going to find anything.

Kerrigan tries her best to get into the victim, Rebecca’s life. When her and a colleague goes to check out Rebecca’s house they find her friend Louise cleaning it up. This pretty much ruins any chance of getting an idea of what Rebecca’s last moments at her home where like. She interviews Louise, Rebecca’s ex-boyfriend and anyone else who had contact with her. It leads Kerrigan all the way back to something tragic happening to when Rebecca and Louise when to Oxford.

Piece by piece she tries to put the pieces together and find out what happened to Rebecca and keep one foot in on The Burning Man case as well. One of her colleagues Rob helps her a little with the case and we find out that he likes her a bit. Though some times he doesn’t really show it but I think it’s because he doesn’t want the other guys to know he is crushing on Kerrigan, but it lends a little romance to the story.

It didn’t really pick up for me until about 7o% into the story and at first I was a little confused about why we were getting Louise’s point of view as well as Kerrigan’s. After a while I sort of put things together and got an idea on why we were getting her POV but at first it was a bit confusing and well a bit boring. For the most part I liked DC Kerrigan and would be interested in reading the next novel in the series. I’m not a big fan of Rob yet but if he isn’t such a jerk in the next book he could grow  on me, but right now I don’t see what Kerrigan finds in him. I couldn’t stand DCI Judd and Superintendent Godley was okay but at time still acts like a male chauvinist pig like DCI Judd.

If your into British crime stories then you will probably enjoy this one.

 

Share

2 Responses to “Review of The Burning”

  1. Berls @ Fantasy is More Fun

    I like the sounds of Kerrigan – being the only woman on the team and having to deal with a lot of crap, and doing so really WELL – she’s my kind of character! I don’t tend to be a big fan of procedural stories, but this one does sound pretty good.

    • ladystorm

      It was a bit different but I did enjoy it. I am not extremely big on procedural stories myself.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.