Review of The Burglar’s Ball

Posted October 14, 2021 by Stormi in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Review of The Burglar’s Ball

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Burglar's Ball by Julia Golding
Series: ,
Genres: Middle Grade, Mystery, Historical
Published by Lion Hudson Ltd. on October 22, 2021
Pages: 176
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Nancy Drew. Enola Holmes. Sally Lockhart. Move over girls, it’s Jane's time!
Join young budding detective Jane Austen in her second investigation to uncover a devious diamond thief at the glitziest, most scandalous ball of the year! Inspired by Sense and Sensibility.
*‘No one who had ever seen Jane Austen in her infancy would suppose her to be born to solve crimes. From her early love of sugar plums, and cleverness in hiding her expeditions into the pantry, her mother declared her far more likely to commit them. However, as Jane would counter, there was no better person to identify the culprit than the thief turned thief-catcher.’
When the headmistress invites her past favourite pupil to attend their end of term ball, Cassandra brings her younger sister, Jane, along too. Cassandra plunges into the feverish excitement of preparing for the biggest event of the year – the dresses, the dances and the boys expected from the neighbouring school.
Feeling rather excluded, sharp-witted Jane unearths the reason for the fuss – the headteacher wants to impress a rich family returned from India as the school is at risk of going bankrupt. Jane also befriends the dancing master’s assistant, a former slave, called Brandon, who is as quick to notice things as she. At the ball, a diamond necklace is stolen from a locked room and they are propelled into a race to uncover the burglar and save Brandon from gaol.
With the ever-present Austen spirit, Jane with notebook in hand, boldly overcomes the obstacles to finding the truth.
Perfect for readers aged 9-109, and for fans of Katherine Woodfine and Lucy Worsley.

Also by this author: The Jane Austen Investigates: The Abbey Mystery

Here is what I thought

This is the second book in the Jane Austen Investigates series, its about a young Jane and they are a lot of fun.

Cassandra, Jane’s older sister, gets invited to attend a ball at the old school they use to go to becauset he headmistress says that Cassandra could out dance everyone and she wants a good dancer in attendance. Cassandra decides to take Jane with her even though Jane doesn’t want to go and so Jane brings her dog Grandison!

While they are at the school they find out that there are some girls there who are trying out the school to see if they want to attend there and that they had been living in India, but their father needs to put them in a school. They are all going to be attending the ball. One of the girls who likes to sort of flaunt around decides to wear her diamonds and during the ball they are stolen when she puts them up.

A young black man is accused of taking them because he knew about them, but so did a lot of others. Jane knows he didn’t do it because he wouldn’t have time as he was part of the entertainment. She decides that she will have to investigate and find out exactly what happened to the diamond necklace. There are plenty of suspects and Jane is up for the task.

I really like Jane as a character, she is fun, spunky and a bit onnery. The mystery was interesting and pretty easy to figure out but it is a middle grade book, so it’s not suppose to be hard. I think if you like books like Nancy Drew then you would enjoy this series! Perfect for young readers who are into mysteries!

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Share

Tags:

Divider

One response to “Review of The Burglar’s Ball

Leave a Reply