Review of Scary House

October 31, 2017 Book Reviews 8

Review of Scary House

I received this book for free from Kindle Freebie in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Scary House by Sean Thomas Fisher
Genres: Horror
Published by Bump in the Night Publishing on July 18th 2017
Pages: 286
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Freebie

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Stranger Things, Super 8, and The Goonies, comes a harrowing tale of survival against the dead still wandering the halls of the Campbell House.
It’s nearly Halloween and Gavin has a plan to wipe the boredom from his friends’ faces. Fearlessly, he sets out with Scotty and Pincher on their BMX bikes to investigate an abandoned house on the outskirts of town that will change their lives forever. For unbeknownst to them, something horrific happened within those old walls and it’s up to Gavin and his friends to stop it from happening again. Enlisting the help of his older brother, Boone, the group pours through research before weaving through the crooked tombstones of an old cemetery to find answers. Unfortunately, what they dig up will leave one of them dead.
The others will have to work together to escape the house’s sinister web. Teamwork, loyalty, and bravery are their only allies against something not of this world. Something that has been wreaking havoc on Cottage Grove for the last fifty years.
The only thing more unimaginable than what it is...is what It wants.

Here is what I thought

This was a pretty decent haunted house story and I grabbed this one up for free when it was on sale. It’s now 2.99 so I got a good deal!

Three boys are looking for a haunted house, well at least Gavin is, the other two are not real thrilled about it. Gavin just got a new polaroid camera from his mom and he is wanting to find a ghost.

None of the houses they have check out have been haunted but there was something about this house that felt different. Gavin talks Scotty and Pitcher into going inside and he soon wishes he never did as this one is really haunted and there is something evil inside that wants out.

Everything in it was left just like it was in 1964 when it was said that a husband killed his wife and kid and then after their funeral hung himself. Pincher picks up the penny on the steps as they go in. They start looking in a photo album and see a picture of their bikes out by the tree and get really freaked out.  Then a realtor comes and he picks up a penny on the steps and the boys wonder how he could pick up the same penny. That penny is an interesting thing about this house.

It’s the penny that starts their journey into trying to figure out the haunted house because of what it does and I can’t say any more.

Scary house was a pretty scary house though I did feel like the author was taking a bit from King’s It, but it was still good. I have never been a fan of books that go back and forth from present day to past and at one point I was really confused. It starts out with Gavin as an adult and the spirit is back and he calls those involved in what happened years ago, then it goes back to win it all happened.

I felt the ending was a little rushed and then it just ended and I was kind of like, that is it, it’s done. Overall though I enjoyed reading it.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Share

8 Responses to “Review of Scary House”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.