Review of Operation Frog Effect

March 6, 2019 Book Reviews 7

Review of Operation Frog Effect

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Operation Frog Effect by Sarah Scheerger
Genres: Middle Grade
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on February 26, 2019
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act?
Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form--Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sarah Weeks, and for anyone who wants to make a difference.
Hi--It's us, Ms. Graham's class. We didn't mean to mess things up. But we did. We took things too far, and now Ms. Graham is in trouble--for something we did. We made a mistake. The question is, can we fix it? Ms. Graham taught us that we get to choose the kind of people we want to be and that a single act can create ripples. So get ready, world--we're about to make some ripples.Sincerely, Kayley, Kai, Henry, Aviva, Cecilia, Blake, Sharon, Emily (and Kermit, class frog)
Everyone makes mistakes. But what happens when your mistake hurts someone else? Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form, Operation Frog Effect celebrates standing up and standing together, and tells the unforgettable story of how eight very different kids take responsibility for their actions and unite for a cause they all believe in.
"A heartfelt novel with complex characters who realize that to promote change in the world, they first have to change how they see each other."--John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day

Here is what I thought

Operation Frog Effect is about a group of students and an extraordinary teacher who used a bit of ‘out of the box’ teaching methods to get her students to think about real life situations. One of her projects was about social issues and the students who were put in groups had to decide on a issue then think of how they could change things.

One such group decided on the homeless and when the teacher told them they should ‘immerse themselves’ into their issue they did something not so great which results in getting the teacher into trouble. The students took what the teacher taught them to make their voices be heard.

It’s told in a mix media style told in the POV of seven different students who come from a wide variety of backgrounds and home situations. Through their journal entries and their different styles of writing you get to know about their situation and of everything else that is going on. I might not have agreed with some things because of my own personal beliefs but I still enjoyed the book and it’s message.

It’s a good book for young readers to learn about how one thing they do in life can have good and bad consequences and a ripple effect that can cause harm or help others.

Share

7 Responses to “Review of Operation Frog Effect”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.