Review of Good Crooks: Missing Monkey

February 27, 2014 Book Reviews, Review Archive 1

Review of Good Crooks: Missing Monkey

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Good Crooks: Missing Monkey by Mary Amato
Genres: Children's Book, Humorous
Published by EgmontUSA on Feb. 25th
Pages: 128
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture.

When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt.

Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Also by this author: Dog Gone

Good Crooks is a fun and silly  book for young readers.

Billy and Jillian are Crooks, I mean that is there last name. Though there parents really are crooks and they want Billy and Jillian to fall in their footsteps. They are teaching them how to pick locks, etc. The thing is, is Billy doesn’t really want to be a crook and then he finds out that his twin sister doesn’t either.

Billy seen an ad for helping out at the zoo and he wants to do this good deed. Before you know it his sister has followed him and that is when he finds out about her liking to do good deeds. The bad thing is there parents followed them and thinks that they had plans to still a monkey, so their parents do it.

Once the monkey comes into play the books is filled with all sorts of funny antics and then when they try and put the monkey back it gets even funnier. It teaches  children that doing good deeds are better than being bad and it does this in a fun and silly way.

Since I got an eArc the illustrations were just sketches, but I can tell from those sketches that they are going to be real cute when finished.  Ward Jenkins did a really good job.

I would recommend this for anyone with little kids who like to read.

Share

One Response to “Review of Good Crooks: Missing Monkey”

Leave a Reply to Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews Cancel reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.