Review of Fixed in Fear

December 17, 2015 Book Reviews 5

Review of Fixed in Fear

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Fixed in Fear Genres: Mystery, Crime, Detective
Published by Alibi on December 8th 2015
Pages: 314
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Fixer returns in the pulse-pounding Justice series—perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter thrillers—as worlds collide in an inferno of bloodshed, revenge, and holy terror.
I’ll probably never see my daughter again. And if I do, she’ll either be dead or in a jail cell.
Seattle Chief of Detectives Mort Grant cannot reconcile the memories of his vibrant, headstrong young daughter with the cold, deadly woman she has become. The head of one of the largest criminal enterprises in the world, Allie Grant seized power by wrenching it away from her lover, a notorious Russian gangster. How she maintains her control, Mort doesn’t even want to imagine.
Only two other people know the truth about Allie: the vigilante known as The Fixer, and Mort’s best friend, Larry, who’s undergoing a crisis of his own. Someone close to Larry, his last real connection to his beloved late wife, has been slain in a mass murder at a sweat lodge deep in the woods of Washington State. When word gets out, Mort immediately takes on the gruesome case.
But as Mort hunts down a pair of methodical killers, The Fixer does some deep digging of her own. And what she unearths will rock Mort’s family forever. Because The Fixer has set her sights on Allie Grant—and nothing will ever be the same again.

First Line

It was September and the air blew warm across the broad clearing high atop a pine-forested hill.

What I thought of this book

CRIME    ARCREVIEW

Oh my this is probably one of the best installments yet in this series as things with Allie are ramping up! What will the fixer do?

Could be a bit spoilery if you haven’t read the series but it’s the fifth installment so kind of hard not to get around it. Going to try and not spoil things so might be a short review.

So in this one Mort teams up with Chief Rita Willer who is from another county but because the brutal murder involves a frind of Larry’s, Mort’s friend, he asked to help with the investigation.

In this story we get a lot more information about Helen and Larry. Helen is Larry’s deceased wife and the man who was murdered was her Uncle. So we get some backstory about what happened to Helen. It is very surprising!

Meanwhile Allie who is Mort’s daughter and criminal mastermind is back in town and wants to see her family. She especially wants access to her twin nieces which her brother  forbids. She wants  The Fixer, Lydia to intercede and when she refuses things start to get ugly.

The ending lands you on a cliffhanger and I was like OMG….NO…I need the next installment now…lol.

I love the characters in this series and I am pretty invested in them now. Mort is a great cop who let some morals slide a bit when he finds out who the fixer is and well you just have to read the books to see why. His hopes for her is that she will leave her fixer days behind her but some times it’s just not possible, though she is trying. Lydia is a broken woman who had a lot of bad things happen to her  that turned her into the fixer and it’s not something she can just turn off though you can tell she is trying to be a better person.

Allie, oh my goodness I have never wanted to reach in and slap a character so much, she is just awful and I feel bad for Mort as he is a good guy and she is a horrid daughter.

I love all the great secondary characters, Jimmy and his dog. Larry who is Mort’s best friend, I just really like them all. 🙂

Overall this was by far my favorite installment in the series and it’s probably because of the Allie/Lydia confrontations and wondering how Lydia is going to deal with Allie. She could just killer her but she is Mort’s daughter so that is a sticky situation…lol. If you like crime/detective novels then you should really grab this series up and start with The Fixer!

Reading Challenge

Share

5 Responses to “Review of Fixed in Fear”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.