Review of Egypt’s Fire

Posted June 9, 2022 by Stormi in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

Review of Egypt’s Fire

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Egypt's Fire by Tom Phillips
Series: The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves #1
Genres: Action, Adventure, Middle Grade, Mystery
Published by Pixel + Ink on May 3, 2022
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Accused of stealing a rare ruby, a down-on-his luck twelve-year-old is swept into the orbit of the world’s greatest detective you’ve never heard of to track down the true culprit. A madcap middle grade mystery series starter for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes.
After twelve-year-old John Boarhog’s mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he get his hands on and explores the artifacts afterhours.
But when a rare Egyptian ruby—the highlight of the museum’s new exhibit—goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he’s been tracking for years.
John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius’s Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he’s a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne'er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined.
A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt's Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure.

I recieved this book for an honest review.

Here is what I thought

If you are looking for a book that is fun, goofy and is not to be taken serious then this is the book for you! I had a blast reading this one even if it made me roll my eyes a time or two it also made me chuckle.

John Boarhog is a kid living in the attic above a museum. He has been for about six months and the museum is getting a new  Eygptian display and John was curious about it so he snuck down to check it out in a pair of security coveralls he took and there he sees Eygpt’s Fire, for a few minutes before he starts to feel weird and next thing he knows he is being woken up by the police and the large ruby is missing.

John swears he didn’t take it and with that enters Inspector Toadius McGee who believes the boy because he knows who took it someone he has been chasing for a long time called The Mauve Moth. The inspector ends up with the boy in his custody and they set out to find out where the ruby is and to try and catch the Mauve Moth.

I really enjoyed the characters in this there was a lot of fun ones and some not so nice ones but they were all interesting. I think the author must be a fan of Sherlock Holmes because that is who the inspector reminded me of and he called John “doctor” all the time.

This story was very over the top zany and full of things that could never happen and had an action sequence at the end that reminded me of some of my favorite classic cartoons. I laughed and had fun and that is pretty much how I rate my books on if they entertain me.

I would say it might not be for all adults, though I enjoyed it so some might, but others might find it a bit to over the top. I do think that kids will love it have a lot of fun with the characters. I can’t wait for another one to see what other adventures the Inspector and John get into.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Share

Tags: , , , ,

Divider

3 responses to “Review of Egypt’s Fire

  1. This sounds like lots of fun and like a book that kids would really enjoy, It might not be one I’d read on my own but I think it’d be a fun read aloud.

Leave a Reply