Review of Body on Baker Street

April 7, 2018 Book Reviews 3

Review of Body on Baker Street

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany
Published by Crooked Lane Books Pages: 297
on September 12th 2017
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson's Tea Room in anticipation of the store's upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock's legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table--dead. Donald insists he didn't do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author's bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta's depiction of the Great Detective. It's up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

Also by this author: Elementary, She Read

First Line

“Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium, Gemma speaking.”

Here is what I thought

Things have been going good for Gemma until she gets a call from Linda the assistant for the famous Renalta Van Markoff. The author is an author of a controversial series that puts Sherlock Holmes in a relationship with a very different version of  Mrs. Hudson. Gemma sales the books but they want to plan a signing in a very short time and Gemma wasn’t sure how it would go. She pulls it off though and everything was going well until the author dies.

Because Donald was loudly arguing his disdain for the author and her books he is the first suspect and Gemma knows the man is weirdly obsessed with the cannon but she doesn’t think him capable of murder. So she decides to look in on things even though she has been told to stay away from things. It doesn’t help that her ex-boyfriend she still has feelings for is one of the detectives and that she has a way of rubbing the other one the wrong way.

Renalta wasn’t at all what she seemed so Gemma finds there are a lot of different suspects to try and weed out. There is a crazy fan, a lady who says Renalta ripped off her book idea, the publicist, the assistant, the publisher, and anyone who thought her books were blasphemous to the Sherlock cannon. Gemma has her work cut out for her and it also seems that murder is good for business.

I really liked Body on Baker Street it was a really good second book in series. I like Gemma, though sometimes she goes a bit to far on her quest to solve a murder. It’s a good thing that Ryan knows how she thinks and stops her before she gets in trouble. Ryan knows how well Gemma is with her attention to detail but he also doesn’t want her interfering with his investigation. She also doesn’t want him to get thrown off the case because she is involved like last time, but she still is determined.

I thought it had a very good mystery and the author was very good at making me second guess my suspects and who I thought it was and though I wasn’t surprised at who it was I didn’t guess it until about the same time the MC did.

If you love cozies then you really need to try this series! I can’t wait to get started on the next one! 🙂

Works for my Cloak and Dagger Challenge

Share

3 Responses to “Review of Body on Baker Street”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)