Review of A Madness So Discreet

October 6, 2015 Book Reviews 3

Review of A Madness So Discreet

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Genres: YA, Historical
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on October 6th 2015
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.
When Grace Mae is sent to the insane asylum because of the bulge in her belly, she already knows about madness and family secrets. It is in the darkness that she may find a new lease on life when a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind hiding beneath the fear and anger. Although the doctor insists that for Grace's safety she must continue to play insane while assisting him at crime scenes, she finds hope in a different, ethical asylum. But the gruesome nights when Grace and the doctor investigate a killer targeting young women bring Grace's shaky sanity, and the demons of her own past, dangerously close to the surface.

Welcome to another stop from Monsters, Madmen, Mayhem. Oh my! Today I have a review of A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. This was a very dark and different kind of read.

First Line

They all had their terrors.

What I thought of this book

I am a little conflicted on what I think about this story. A part of me really liked it while another part of me wasn’t to sure about some of it. So in the end I just came to the conclusion that it was just okay, it was different and dark, but not great.

It’s about a girl who was put in an insane asylum because she was pregnant. Now you have to realize this was back in the mid 1800’s or there about, so women were pretty much nothing. She was the daughter of a senator so they couldn’t have her being pregnant. While there another doctor comes to know her for her creative mind. She is very good at seeing things others wouldn’t.

Before there was criminal profiles for the FBI there was Dr. Thornhollow and Grace. They go to crime scenes and study. It almost reminded me a little of Sherlock Holmes.

Here is what I liked:

  • It was dark and gritty. It was different and had a very eerie feel to it at times. The historical research that the other had do on the time period and asylums did not go unnoticed.
  • Nell, she was my favorite character. She is this Irish girl who is not really crazy but she has the Pox and it’s easier to treat it with mercury there.
  • Grace the MC I am a little on edge about. I really liked her up until probably a little over half way then she sort of took a turn that I didn’t like. So I liked but I didn’t so it’s kind of hard to decide where to put her so she gets to be in both sections.
  • Falsteed, is isn’t in the book much but he is such a Hannibal Lecter type of character that has this unusual charm and way of smelling you and knowing everything about you..lol. I would not want to meet him outside on the street.

What I didn’t like:

  • It has a bit of a feminist vibe to me. The author seem to like to empower the women in her story but she just makes them a little bit evil to me instead. This is just my opinion. You have to remember this is a historical and women were not really seen as humans but as objects.
  • Though I said Nell is my favorite character something she did I didn’t care much for and it made me frown. I totally get where she is coming from but to punish the guys whole family because of what the man did is not right.
  • Grace, there is a point toward the end that her hatred for the killer takes her a bit over the edge and she feels no remorse for the things she has done. It’s like she turned completely evil with no heart. It quickly made me go from liking her to not liking her so much.

It’s these little things that I didn’t like that kept it from being a 4 star read for me. Others will have no problem with it and those I think will find this story very dark, dreary and interesting. So for those I say give it a try, you might like it. 🙂

This is my first book by this author and though I had issues I will be trying another one from her.

Reading Challenge

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Summer COYER
Share

3 Responses to “Review of A Madness So Discreet”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.