Monthly Report ~ January

February 1, 2017 Challenges 11

bmr update button

Even though I have read/listened to a lot this month it has been a challenging start to the year in terms of reading. Audios are going  great, but ebooks not so much. So because of that I concentrated on more audios than ebooks which has put me behind on my eARC’s for the year already. 🙁

Books read - January

In January I read/listened to 19 books and DNFed 1 book.

14 audiobooks

4 eARC’s

1 hardback

1 DNFed eARC

0- 5 stars, 1-4.5 stars, 13-4 stars, 2-3.5 stars, 2-3 stars, 1-2 stars, 0-1 stars

My challenge widgets don’t reflex all the books I read because some are scheduled and have not been posted and they don’t count them till they have posted…errr.

 

2017 Audiobook

2017 Audiobook

Host: Cohosted by Hot Listens and Caffeinated Book Reviews
My Summary Post
Progress: 21/85 (25%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

25
  1. Crime on the Fens by Joy Ellis
  2. Shadow on the Fens by Joy Ellis
  3. A Whisker of Trouble by Sofie Ryan
  4. Telling Tails by Sofie Ryan
  5. Two Tall Talls by Sofie Ryan/Sofie Kelly
  6. Consumed by E. H. Reinhard
  7. Committed by E. H. Reinhard
  8. Claws for Alarm by T. C. LoTempio
  9. Relatively Dead by Sheila Connolly
  10. Some Danger Involved by Will Thomas
  11. The Rising by Heather Graham/Jon Land
  12. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  13. Murder, Madness and Love by Yolanda Renee
  14. Pirate by Eve Langlais

Favorites for this challenge:

 

4.5 stars                    4 stars

Least Favorite:

3.5 stars

2017 Blogger Shame

2017 Blogger Shame

Host: Anna @ herding Cats and Burning Soup
My Summary Post
Progress: 5/10 (50%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

50
  1. A Whisker of Trouble by Sofie Ryan
  2. Pirates by Eve Langlais

Enjoyed both of these so no favorites. 🙂 Both were 4 stars.

2017 Cloak and Dagger

2017 Cloak and Dagger

Host: Cohosted by myself and Barb @ Booker T's Farm
My Summary Post
Progress: 14/100 (14%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

14
  1. Crime on the Fens by Joy Ellis
  2. A Whisker of Trouble by Sofie Ryan
  3. Stalked by Elizabeth Heiter
  4. Shadow Over the Fens by Joy Ellis
  5. Telling Tails by Sofie Ryan
  6. Consumed by E. H. Reinhard
  7. Claws for Alarm by T.C. LoTempio
  8. Committed by E. H. Reinhard
  9. Dead and Breakfast by Kate Kingsbury
  10. Some Danger Involved by Will Thomas
  11. Murder, Madness and Love by Yolanda Renee
  12. The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro

Favorites from this challenge: 

 

4 stars                       4 stars

Least favorite:

2 stars

2017 Cruzin thru the Cozies

2017 Cruzin thru the Cozies

Host: Socrates\' Book Reviews
My Summary Post
Progress: 6/20 (30%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

30
  1. A Whisker of Trouble
  2. Telling Tails
  3. Two Tall Tails
  4. Claws for Alarm
  5. Dead and Breakfast
  6. Relatively Dead

Favorites for this Challenge

 

4 stars                       4 stars

2017 Netgalley and Edelweiss

2017 Netgalley and Edelweiss

Host: Hosted by Bookish Things and More
My Summary Post
Progress: 4/50 (8%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

8
  1. Stalked
  2. Dead and Breakfast
  3. The River at Night by Erica Ferencik
  4. The Last of August

This is sad, but I don’t really have a favorite. 🙁 This is what I mean about having a hard time with my ebooks.

2017 New Release

2017 New Release

Host: Hosted by myself and Lexxie @ unconditional book views
My Summary Post
Progress: 6/60 (10%)
1 January, 2017 — 31 December, 2017
Failed

10
  1. Telling Tails
  2. Batgirl at Superhero High by Lisa Yee
  3. Dead and Breakfast
  4. The Rising
  5. The River at Night
  6. The Last of August

Favorites for this challenge:

 

4 stars                 4 stars

Least favorite:

 

2 stars                 3 stars

DNFed (therefore it doesn’t count for my challenges):

Bookish Resolution Challenge

Reading Goals:

  • Read at least 25 of my own books.
  1. Jan – Well even though I had just gotten it for Christmas I guess it should count so. 1 of my own books read. (Moon Called)
  • Put a major dent in old review books. Not putting a number on this one cause I just don’t know what to put but I do want to read as many as I can and try and get caught up. (Not that it will actually happen.) 🙂
  1. Jan – 2 books so far. ( listened to two older review audios)
  • Do my best to keep up with review books for 2017, I am tired of being behind.
  1. Jan -This one is not getting off to a good start due to some duds and a reading slump. 🙁
  • Not requesting as many new books so that I can keep caught up.
  1. Jan – Though not as many as usual I am still calling this one a fail. I am just to tempted…lol.

Personal Goals:

  • Use my newbie planner I got to keep track of review books and blog tours. (Got this cheap little planner to see if I will like them or not…lol.)
  1. Jan- Not a total fail but I am learning that not everything is on there as I thought but then I did get this planner after I already had got some review books for the year and thought I had them all in there but I missed some. It’s a work in progress. 🙂
  • Blog ahead – try and keep at least a week or two ahead of schedule.
  1. Jan – So far so goood! I have got a few reviews ahead into February and I hope I can keep it that way. 🙂

Writing Goals:

  • Finish one book even if it’s just the rough draft.
  1. Jan – This will be a work in progress. I have an idea drawn up and I have been working out a character sheet for the MC and got a couple pages written down.
  • Start second book or at least have an idea.
  1. Jan – This one all depends on how writing goal one goes. 🙂

 So these are my goals for the year and I hope I can keep to them. 🙂

Share

11 Responses to “Monthly Report ~ January”

  1. sjhigbee

    It seems a really impressive start to the year – especially the Cloak and Dagger Challenge. And I know ALLL about the difficulty of resisting the call of new books! I was going to be sooo sensible this year and that’s already a bust! Hope February is a really good reading month for you:).

    sjhigbee recently posted: While the Morning Stars Sing
  2. Laura Thomas

    Looks like a good start to me, Stormi. And a wide range of ratings. I’m still on the fence about Little Heaven. I don’t want to spend money on a book I won’t enjoy, so holding off on it for now. You and Barb both didn’t enjoy it and we like the same kind of stories. And it looks like we have many of the same goals for this year. Putting a dent in my TBR, taking in less new ones and staying on top of them, and blogging ahead are my major ones.

    Laura Thomas recently posted: Journey To The Rift ~ Book Blitz and Giveaway
  3. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    You had a great month. I’m sorry you didn’t like “The Last of August” more. Didn’t you really enjoy the first one? And yes, there is “Little Heaven” and it’s pretty orange cover standing out and still mocking us. I’m glad to start February with the memories of that one far behind me.

    Barb (boxermommyreads) recently posted: Can't Wait Wednesday (93)
  4. Emma

    I can’t believe how many books you’ve read,more listened too. I’m not good with audiobooks though I try now and then. I lose track or get distracted. Lots of books on your list I need to check out your reviews for – familiar authors but not books.

    Emma recently posted: Monthly round-up: January, 2017
  5. Charlie

    What a terrific month! 14 audiobooks blows my mind. I amped up and listened to two! You are making great progress with your challenges and your goals!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.