Friday Meme’s: The Yard

April 3, 2015 Memes 19

BMR,Friday's Meme

So I am a little behind today do to Severe storms and Tornado Warnings keeping me up at all hours of the night..I am so tired..lol. But I figure better late than never. 🙂

Since there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

featurefollowFeature and Follow Friday is hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.

Have you ever had a reoccurring dream? 
What was it? 

When I was younger I use to have a dream about a bear chasing me, so probably more of a nightmare and it happened more than once but other than that nope. I don’t remember what I dream very often but when I do boy are they ever strange. 🙂

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

The Yard

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as “The Murder Squad”—to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . .When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

Prologue, London, 1889

Nobody noticed when Inspector Christian Little of Scotland Yard disappeared, and nobody was looking for him when he was found.

Chapter one

Two hours since the discovery of Mr. Little.

Sergeant Kett took a moment to scan the station. Euston, the metropolitan terminus of the London and North-Western Railway, was always bustling.   

This book starts out pretty interesting so I do hope it stays that way. I just started this one this morning so I am not very far  at all.

 

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

His name’s Sam Pizer,” Blackleg said. Hammersmith was sitting with the criminal at a small round table in a pub five blocks from the Shaw residence. He had been late arriving and Blackleg seemed impatient. Judging by the number of empty mgs on the table, Blackleg hadn’t waited for Hammersmith before he began drinking.

“The chimney sweep, you mean?”

“Yeah, You been tippin’ the bottle already, copper? Y’act like yer on the deck of a sinkin’ ship. Yer weavin’ about on yer chair.”

“I was poisoned earlier today.”

Blackleg sat up and leaned forward. “What’d they use?”

“Benzene.”  

Sorry it’s a little long but I wanted to get it all in for a good little teaser! 🙂  I must say I am curious about what happened to the copper and who might have poisoned him. 🙂

book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

Is there one book you will NEVER forget?

Well, lets see right off the top of my head I would have to say both Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion by Jane Austen will forever been ingrained in my head along with Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.  I can’t seem to just name one book though..lol. More modern day books that stuck with my would be The Fever series by Karen Marie Moning and Cedar Cove books I have read by Debbie Macomber. 🙂

Share

19 Responses to “Friday Meme’s: The Yard”

  1. Helen @ Lips & Lit

    Nice to meet ya! 🙂 I can’t say I’ve had any recurring dreams – which I guess is nice, as most people seem to be talking about recurring nightmares today, which sounds awful 🙁

    Twitter and Bloglovin follower 🙂

    • Stormi

      It does sound like a good one and I found it cause I seen the fourth one for review, to I thought it was only the second one when I asked for it. 🙁 So thought I better try out the first one..lol

    • Stormi

      LOL, my dreams were strange even when I was young..hope that doesn’t mean anything..hehe 🙂

  2. Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews)

    I couldn’t just name one either. 🙂 Lots of good books to remember.

    As for the dream….I usually don’t remember dreams because I usually do not dream, but one dream is that I am driving up this very steep hill and I fall backwards. Awful.

    I hope you are having a good weekend.

    Also…a review and giveaway of DON’T TRY TO FIND ME at this link.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2015/04/review-and-giveaway-of-dont-try-to-find.html

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

    Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews) recently posted: Book Beginnings - 4/3/15
  3. Lorna

    I used to read all of the Cedar Cove books but not lately. Book I will never forget? Depends on what time in my life we are talking about. If we are talking about now-any of Dannika Dark’s Mageri series books or Karina Halle’s Experiment in Terror books.Caged series by Amber Lynn Natusch, anything by Samantha Towle or J.T.Geissinger. I could go on and on..

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.