Friday Meme’s ~The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

May 27, 2016 Memes 20

BMR,Friday's MemeSince there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendent of Mother Goose, and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff.

Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguishes this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff.

I have been reading a lot of mysteries lately and decided I needed something a little different. 🙂 This one came out this month and I am trying really hard to get caught up with review books. (Not ever going to happen…lol) Going to start this one after I finish up a couple I am reading right now. 🙂

When the Renaissance Faire came to town, Mom announced we had to go. She said it was my chance to “visit history” by observing what life in an English village was like in the days when there were lords and ladies, knights, archers, falconers, jugglers, peddlers, and peasants. But the truth was, Mom loved anything to do with costumes. I think she just couldn’t resist seeing what the people at the fair would be wearing.
Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

“Oops, time for me to go, kiddo,” Aunt Doris said when she saw them heading out way. The light above us flickered and she began to dissolve around the edges. “Here, take these to s hare with your friends.” She nudged the plate of cookies towards me.

I stared at them for a moment. “But don’t you have to distribute them randomly?”

“Cookies are just for fun, kiddo. Sometimes we make them with a touch of leftover cake batter to give them a wisp of magic.” Aunt Doris winked at me.

Hmmm, her aunt is dissolving around the edges. What is she? I am a bit curious. 🙂

book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

Have you ever started a meme that became popular and is still in existence?

No, not started a meme that has become popular. I am not good with coming up with cool things like that…lol.

Share

20 Responses to “Friday Meme’s ~The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper”

    • Stormi

      I don’t have kids but I still like kids books….lol. 🙂 I need a kid so it looks more acceptable to read kids books and go watch cartoons at the theater…LOL. 😉 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.