Friday Meme’s: The Rhyme of the Magpie

November 27, 2015 Memes 14

BMR,Friday's MemeSince there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

featurefollowFeature and Follow Friday is hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.

Black Friday Eve! You have $100 (or pounds or whatever your currency is) to spend on books. What are you going to buy? – Suggested byAlison Can Read

Since I don’t actually own any Harry Potter books I think I would buy the illustrated one as it looks pretty cool. Then I would probably just grab up a bunch that I have on my amazon wishlist that I have been saving for money like this…lol. Let’s see probably Court of Thorn and Roses, The Copper Gauntlet, Fallout, etc.

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

Rhyme of the Magpie

For readers of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, the high-flying new Birds of a Feather mystery series from Marty Wingate begins as a British woman gets caught up in a dangerous plot when her celebrity father disappears.

With her personal life in disarray, Julia Lanchester feels she has no option but to quit her job on her father’s hit BBC Two nature show, A Bird in the Hand. Accepting a tourist management position in Smeaton-under-Lyme, a quaint village in the English countryside, Julia throws herself into her new life, delighting sightseers (and a local member of the gentry) with tales of ancient Romans and pillaging Vikings.

But the past is front and center when her father, Rupert, tracks her down in a moment of desperation. Julia refuses to hear him out; his quick remarriage after her mother’s death was one of the reasons Julia flew the coop. But later she gets a distressed call from her new stepmum: Rupert has gone missing. Julia decides to investigate—she owes him that much, at least—and her father’s new assistant, the infuriatingly dapper Michael Sedgwick, offers to help. Little does the unlikely pair realize that awaiting them is a tightly woven nest of lies and murder.

Another cozy that I need to get to. I like Marty Wingate’s Potting Shed series, so i am sure I will enjoy this one. Book two comes out in December so I need to get to this one soon. 🙂

Four magpies in their black-and-white court jester outfits strutted about on the pavement when I stepped out of my cottage. I gave the door a sharp tug to make sure it latched and looked down the empty high street toward the green.

Not real gripping but I like the description of the magpies.

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

“Julia, where are you?”

I spread my arms out. “Here,” I said. “There’s a field beyond the Hall with a few caravans in it. Next to a wood. You come out if you want, but I won’t stay any longer than I have to after the police arrive.”

“I’ll be there in five minutes.”

Not a clue what is going on here but I am a bit curious.

book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

How reliable can you say you are in terms of having promised reviews completed for blog tours or publisher and author requests?

 

When it comes to tours or promising the author a certain date then I stick to the date promised, but if it’s just a book picked up for review I just added to my list and get to it when I can.

Share

14 Responses to “Friday Meme’s: The Rhyme of the Magpie”

    • Stormi

      It does have a cool cover and I am sure it will be good as I have liked her other books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.