Friday Meme’s: The Beast of Barcroft

October 9, 2015 Memes 19

BMR,Friday's MemeSince there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

featurefollowFeature and Follow Friday is hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.

Name a book you hated – Suggested byBookish Findings

I don’t hate a lot of books but there is one that I really loathed reading and it’s the first book that popped into my head when I read this questions. Seekers by Arwen Elys Dayton it made no sense to me and was so boring. I would have DNFed it but was doing a buddy read so wanted to stick to it.

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

The Beast of Barcroft

Fans of Stephen King and Bentley Little will devour The Beast of Barcroft, Bill Schweigart’s brilliant new vision of dark suburban horror. Ben thought he had the neighbor from hell. He didn’t know how right he was. . . .

Ben McKelvie believes he’s moving up in the world when he and his fiancée buy a house in the cushy Washington, D.C., suburb of Barcroft. Instead, he’s moving down—way down—thanks to Madeleine Roux, the crazy neighbor whose vermin-infested property is a permanent eyesore and looming hazard to public health.

First, Ben’s fiancée leaves him; then, his dog dies, apparently killed by a predator drawn into Barcroft by Madeleine’s noxious menagerie. But the worst is yet to come for Ben, for he’s not dealing with any ordinary wild animal. This killer is something much, much worse. Something that couldn’t possibly exist—in this world.

Now, as a devilish creature stalks the locals, Ben resolves to take action. With some grudging assistance from a curator at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo and the crackpot theories of a self-styled cryptozoologist, he discovers the sinister truth behind the attacks, but knowing the Beast of Barcroft and stopping it are two different animals.

Still going with my Horror theme this month and I just started reading this one last night. I am only about 15% into it and right now it’s a little on the slow side, so I do hope it picks up.

Ben McKelvie watched a survival show on cable from his couch in Arlington, where the host, with an enthusiasm bordering on mania, was trekking across the Serengeti.

The start is not all that great and so far it’s not really gotten that much better. 🙁

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

She put her hand on his, the one with the badge, and stopped his twirling. “You said it was a wolf?”

He looked her in the eye. “This time.”

“You’re in shock.”

“So are the dozens of witnesses. It’s in the police report. It’s public record.”

“I’m just trying to wrap my head around all this. First a mountain lion attacks, then a wolf? In Arlington?”

“Not just Arlington, Lindsay, Barcroft.

Sounds like something interesting has been happening. 🙂

book blogger hop halloween edition

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

What’s your favorite “Halloween” snack to munch on while you’re reading? 

Ummm, I don’t really have one. Not a huge candy person and I don’t buy Halloween candy. If I did buy it it would just be the ordinary Reeses type stuff cause who doesn’t love peanut butter and chocolate! 🙂

Share

19 Responses to “Friday Meme’s: The Beast of Barcroft”

  1. Baggins

    I’ve been seeing Seeker pop up a lot lately so it’s been enticing me. But maybe I’ll be warier now! 😉 Having a horror themed month is a great idea, enjoy! I’m aiming to read some too this month. And absolutely yes to peanut butter and chocolate! 😀 Thanks for visiting my blog. Old follower.

    Baggins recently posted: Stacking the Shelves (69)
  2. Lorna

    No! Don’t kill the dog-just don’t. That turned me off the read immediately. I do hope you enjoy it though! I haven’t heard of the book you hated. I can honestly say that over the years there have been many and normally I just DNF them. Since I have been blogging-sometimes you can’t so I do have a few of those as well-goes with the territory I guess 🙂

  3. Rose City Reader

    Slow or not, it would still be too scary for me!

    Thanks for participating in BBOF! I don’t often get around to everyone to leave a comment, but I am always happy when you share your book beginning!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.