DNF Short Review of Blackbird

September 11, 2014 Book Reviews, Review Archive 2

DNF Short Review of Blackbird

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blackbird by Anna Carey
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, YA
Published by HarperTeen on September 16th, 2014
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher

Goodreads

rom the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is--and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.

Things I know are true:

I am in Los Angeles.

I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station.

I am a teenage girl.

I have long black hair.

I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist (FNV02198).

People are trying to kill me.

First thoughts:

When I first heard of this book it sounded like something I would really enjoy. So I was excited when the publishers let me have a copy to review. Because of that I tried really hard to finish this book but finally gave up.

First off what I did like about this book:

I was really interested in the whole amnesia part of the plot. This girl wakes up groggy on a subway train tracks and has no clue who she is, and almost gets hit by a train.  The MC is fairly spunky though a little naive at times and she would have been someone I would have been interested in reading about, if it wasn’t for the one thing that made it to hard for me to read.

Why I DNF’ed this book:

The second person POV just shouldn’t be used at all! I really couldn’t get into that writing style at all and it really made it hard for me to concentrate on the story. The only time I think YOU should be used is if I am reading a choose your own adventure because that is who I felt this book read. The only difference was I didn’t get to choose my outcome.  This point of view made the story drag along for me and I really really tried to finish this one and went farther than I normally do for a book I can’t get into.

Another thing I didn’t care for was how trusting the MC was of Ben. I know that she has no one to turn to and he seems like a nice guy but I would just think for someone on the run from the police and the people who tattooed her and left her on the tracks with no memory would be a little more leery of people. Honestly how does she know that he is not a part of those keeping an eye on her?  I can understand the need to lean on someone for help, but that doesn’t mean I would have to trust that person.

Ultimately It was the POV that made this story lag for me and I just couldn’t find a way to get interested in it. Maybe this POV will be fine for some but I just couldn’t do it.

DNF’ed at page 167.

Share

2 Responses to “DNF Short Review of Blackbird”

  1. Michelle@Because Reading

    I am going to test it out on this review because I heard about this book and it’s 2nd Person POV and I can’t understand how that would even work. Sorry this book didn’t work for you.

    Great Review!!!

  2. Red Iza

    A whole novel in 2nd person ? Sounds weird. I should try it to test it, but it’s not on my priority list just now 😉 Thanks for sharing !

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.