Audiobook review of The Bone Garden

August 19, 2019 Audiobook Reviews, Book Reviews 6

Audiobook review of The Bone Garden

I received this book for free from Macmillan Audio in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bone Garden by Heather Kassner, Matt Saunders
Length: 5 hours and 34 minutes
Genres: Middle Grade
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on August 6, 2019
Pages: 272
Format: Audiobook
Source: Macmillan Audio

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life. "This magical story—and the brave girl in its pages—will haunt you in the best way." —Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon
“Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist.”
Irréelle fears she’s not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life—and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irréelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.
When Irréelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irréelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.
Debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story--illustrated by Matt Saunders--humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.
"[Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s subtly magical stories." —Booklist

Here is what I thought

This was a strange middle grade story about some children made of bone dust.

Irréelle works for Miss Vesper who has made her from dust, bone and imagination. Miss Vesper isn’t a nice person and she is always getting on to Irréelle for not doing things properly. Irréelle, works for Miss Vesper gathering bone dust and Miss Vesper is always talking about the one before her and how she would never be as good. She can’t trust her with the important things and one day she gets really made at Irréelle and tells her she will unimagine her and she will be nothing.

They live in the underside of the graveyard and when Miss Vesper threatens her it scares her and see runs off with Miss Vesper chasing her. She doesn’t know where she is going but she ends up finding a boy who has been trapped and finds out he must be the boy that Miss Vesper always talked about being better than she was and finds out he is not to fond of Miss Vesper. They wonder around till they find themselves on the top side of the graveyard.

While topside they find out some things about Miss Vesper that is very confusing and they set on on an adventure even if it could mean that they could turn back to dust.

I liked the characters in this story well enough, they all had some sass and want for adventure and I would have run from Miss Vesper too. I just didn’t find this to be a very memorable story as it took a lot out of me to remember what I did to write this review.  It wasn’t anything extraordinary but it was an okay read. Young readers might find the story interesting and maybe they would find it more interesting than I did.

The Narrator

This was my first time listening to the narrator Fiona Hardingham and I thought she did a great job. She had an easy voice to listen too though I did listen to this on a faster speed.

Audio rating: 4

Share

6 Responses to “Audiobook review of The Bone Garden”

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.