Audiobook review of Angel Falls

Posted May 15, 2021 by Stormi in Audiobook Reviews, Book Reviews / 4 Comments

Audiobook review of Angel Falls

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Angel Falls (Sand and Shadows #1) by Colleen Helme
Length: 9 hours and 35 minutes
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Published by Manetto Books on March 19, 2021
Pages: 261
Format: Audiobook
Source: Author

Narrator: Stevi Incremona
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Sent away because she let someone die, her burgeoning powers leave her with more questions than answers. Now her only chance for redemption comes at a price... one she may not survive.
As a trauma nurse in a New York City hospital, Ella St. John had no idea that refusing to help a known killer would have such dire consequences. Being sent to the middle of nowhere is bad enough, but when she crosses paths with a handsome stranger, everything changes. She can't deny the attraction blossoming between them, but that is nothing compared to the trouble he brings to her door. Helping him could be the biggest mistake of her life... if she manages to live long enough to regret it.
From the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventures, comes a new series that will plunge a woman with growing powers into the dark world of mystery, murder, and death.
Perfect for fans of Shannon Mayer, Annette Marie, K.F. Breene, and Jennifer Estep.

Also by this author: Devious Minds, Hidden Deception

Here is what I thought

I absolutely love the Shelby Nichols series and in the latest one called Ghostly Serenade, we meet Ella who is a trauma nurse. Shelby runs across her when they bring a victim in that Shelby was trying to help and she can’t seem to get a read on Ella, and she can tell she is a bit different. Then the man who assaulted the victim is brought in and because he is a bad man she refused to use her abilities to help him.

Now  because she refused to help that man she has been sent from NYC to a place in the middle of nowhere with a small clinic, not so much as punishment as to give her time to reflect on things. She she has a paranormal gift that is totally different to what Shelby has and it gives this series a whole different vibe. Ella has “healing hands” and so she can heal people or at least help them and maybe keep them from dying so that their bodies can heal them.

The place she is at isn’t real bad but it sure isn’t the big city either and she really wants to go back home. One day when she was out exploring her new surroundings she accidently runs into a man named Creed. She breaks his leg and so she helps him back to the clinic so that she can use her healing powers on his leg, but she doesn’t want to totally heal him because wouldn’t that be a bit suspicious.

The only bad thing is is that Creed is on the run from something and because she hit him he can no longer get away from those after him and they eventual catch up to him and grab her because she is with him.

Now through all this she is is learning more and more about what she can do with her healing hands because of something she did to help a little boy. She is also strangely attracted to Creed as in it was almost a bit like instaluv which I am not a fan of, but that can be explained closer to the end which makes it okay but at the time I was like ugh.

I really like Ella and Creed and thought they made a pretty good pairing and I will be curious to see what happens next!

There are a lot of things that happen in this novel and we even get a cameo of Shelby, Ramos and Uncle Joey which I loved! That was pretty much the only thing that makes this a bit of a spin off from Shelby other than that it doesn’t really have anything to do with the Shelby Nichols series.  In the Shelby Nichols series I feel like it’s more of a paranormal cozy mystery adventure but this feels more like urban fantasy so it can easily be read on it’s own but I must say that you really should read the Shelby Nichols series because I love it!!!

The Narrator

This series has a different narrator than the Shelby Nichols series which I was kind of bummed about at first but really it’s probably a good thing because the whole story has a different tone and I really enjoyed the narrator, Stevi Incremona. She did a great job!

Please follow and like us:
Share

Tags: , , , , ,

Divider

4 responses to “Audiobook review of Angel Falls

Leave a Reply