Two Bloggers One Series ~ Review of Death Without Company

February 20, 2020 Book Reviews 7

Two Bloggers One Series ~ Review of Death Without CompanyDeath Without Company by Craig Johnson
Series: Walt Longmire #2
Genres: Mystery, Crime
Published by Penguin Books Pages: 271
Format: Paperback
Source: Library

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
Also in this series: A Serpent's Tooth

Walt investigates a death by poison in this gripping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Dry Bones, the second in the  Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit Netflix original seriesFans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, who garnered both praise and an enthusiastic readership with his acclaimed debut novel featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire, The Cold Dish, the first in the Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, now on Netflix. Now Johnson takes us back to the rugged landscape of Absaroka County, Wyoming, for Death Without Company. When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches fifty years into the mysterious woman’s dramatic Basque past. Aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, Sheriff Longmire must connect the specter of the past to the present to find the killer among them.

Also by this author: Spirit of Steamboat, A Serpent's Tooth, Any Other Name, The Highwayman, "Eleven/Twenty-Nine", An Obvious Fact, The Western Star, Depth of Winter, Land of Wolves, The Cold Dish, Kindness Goes Unpunished , Another Man's Moccasins

Barb and I are on our second book in the Longmire series and I am happy to say that I enjoyed this one more than the first so maybe this will be a series that gets better as we go! After reading my review go check out Barbs at Booker T’s Farm.

Here is what I thought

Walt is always going and playing chess I believe it is with Lucian at the retirement home. Lucian was the previous sheriff and Walts mentor and he also lets him do dispatch from time to time. Anyway this time Lucian has a crime for Walt, a lady at the old folks home has died and he thinks it was foul play and wants Walt to look into it for him. We soon learn that Lucian knows this woman from a long time ago.

Walt looks into it but he doesn’t think it’s going to be anything more than a case of the woman was old and she died but things soon get pretty interesting regarding who the woman was and the property she owned. Walt finds out that the man Maria was married to was not a good person and presumed dead. Some things that Lucian might have done it at there are times when Walt isn’t certain that the old man didn’t do it.

It’s when Lana, the granddaughter to Maria gets assaulted that Walt really begins to think that something is not as it seems and starts to look into whether the husband is dead or not, what might have happened, how it plays into what happened to Maria, who is in the will, etc. It all leads Walt down a dangerous path and it seems like that poor man is always getting into some sort of trouble that results in injury! His friend Henry Standing Bear is right behind him on always getting injured too!

As with a series it’s always fun getting to know more and more about the main characters and the side characters. I don’t have any new favorites but I do think Walt is growing on me a bit more as I was having a hard time separating the TV Walt from the book Walt…lol.

Now this one didn’t grab me from the beginning and I was worried at one point I wasn’t going to enjoy it but once I got over the first part and started getting more into the mystery of what happened to Maria that it picked up and I was really curious to find out whodunit. I had no clue and didn’t  figure it out until Walt did and it took him a bit by surprise too!

I would say that if you are a fan of crime novels set in a western setting then you might enjoy this one.

Share

7 Responses to “Two Bloggers One Series ~ Review of Death Without Company”

Leave a Reply