The Week In Review #325

November 8, 2020 Memes 12

The Week in Review is where I combine Stacking the Shelves, The Sunday Post and It’s Monday! What are you reading?  If you have never joined in on these meme’s you can check them out by clicking on the meme and it will take you to the host blog.

I don’t like to get political so I will just say. I did my part, I voted, now I can gripe for the next 4 years if I so please. On to happier subjects.

Man, has the weather been so freaking nice for November!!! It’s been in the 70’s all week long and I know the ball is going to drop at some point so I am just soaking up all the nice weather while I can!!!! 🙂 I have my window open in my room in November…it’s so weird and great! I do think next week will be a bit cooler. I also hate that it gets dark so early. I feel like I should be in bed and look at the clock and it’s only 6pm. 🙁

I needed a bit of comfort so I subscribed to Acorn TV so I could watch my fun British shows and kind of veg out all week. There are some cool new shows I want to try and some favorites with new seasons! It’s time to binge some TV cause I might only keep it for a month or so. I watched some Agatha Raisin, she is obnoxious but cracks me up! There is also a new season of Mystery Road so I have been watching it too.

Guess that is about it. Happy reading!

What you might have missed on my blog

Books I have added

Edelweiss

  • Weird Kid ET meets Harriet the Spy in Greg van Eekhout’s stand-out middle grade adventure about a boy trying to find his place in the world—even though he’s an alien from a distant planet. So the ET meets Harriet the Spy had me…lol.
  • Ghost Girl – Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps! I just love the cover! 🙂
  • The Girl Who Stole an Elephant – Chaya, a no-nonsense, outspoken hero, leads her friends and a gorgeous elephant on a noisy, fraught, joyous adventure through the jungle where revolution is stirring and leeches lurk. Will stealing the queen’s jewels be the beginning or the end of everything for the intrepid gang?  I think it sounds fun.
  • The Ghoul Next Door – New York Times bestselling writer Cullen Bunn and acclaimed artist Cat Farris have created a fun, spooky, full-color middle grade graphic novel about a supernatural adventure and friendships that go beyond the grave! Perfect for fans of Ghosts and Hilo! Supernatural goodness!! 🙂

These all come out next year.

I need all the fun comfort reads I can get so you might see lots of Middle Grade to get me through next year!!

Books read last week

  • The Stitchers – It’s a middle grade audiobook that was quick to listen to as it was just a little over 6 hours. It was fun and about two kids who think something is strange with the oldies that live nearby. Are they vampires, aliens or just very odd. 🙂
  • Scritch Scratch – I really liked this one! It’s about Claire who, after helping her father on his ghost tour, has a boy ghost follow her home and he isn’t very friendly. With the help of her brother and friends they find out who he is and try to figure out why he is haunting her. Super fun and a little bit spooky, great for kids.

Currently reading

  • Nightmare – I am about 20% into it and need to get back into it before I forget what is happening, but kind of in a MG reading mood. So far though I am liking it.
  • These Violent Delights – Yeah I know it’s still here…lol. I am on page 242 of 439 so I am over half I just don’t have a lot of desire to pick it up. Sighs. 🙁
  • Frostheart – The book I am concentrating on right now. 🙂 I am a little over 126 pages and it’s fun. Has lots of cool illustrations.
  • The Incredibly Dead Pets of Rex Dexter – Barb told me I needed to read this so I requested it on Overdrive and bam got it. So now reading it…lol. So far it’s kind of fun and I am about 14% into it.

What might be up next

Yes, lots of Middle Grade being read…lol.

How was your week? What did you get?

Share

12 Responses to “The Week In Review #325”

  1. Michelle@BecauseReading

    You got and read some really awesome books this week. Most of them I now want to read lol. Did you know Small Spaces is a series? I didn’t know that and now want to read the rest of the series.

    I need to get back into Middle Grade, I do miss reading it! 🙂

    Have a great week, Stormi! Happy Reading! xx

    • Stormi

      Yes I knew that about Small Spaces, I really want to read Dead Spaces but my library doesn’t have have it yet, nor does hoopla. 🙁

      I am in a huge MG kick, I just need books that make me smile. There are a ton of cool ones coming out next year so I best pace myself…lol. 🙂

    • Stormi

      I know nothing of his adult books…lol. Actually this is the first time I think I have heard of him. 🙂 Maybe he found them easier to write…lol.

  2. Berls

    Isn’t British television the greatest comfort? Lol! Maybe it’s the accents, idk.

    Loving this weather too! We sat outside yesterday and it was gorgeous. I would find if it stayed this way for winter 😂

    Have a great week!

    • Stormi

      Yeah, it is great! I do think it could be the accent, especially the Australian or Scottish shows! Their comedy is hit or miss but some can really make me laugh. I love Doc Martin! That show is so funny.

      I wish this weather would stay this way but I am afraid it won’t…boo.

  3. Iza

    It’s warm here too, windows open, sun shining like we got the name of the month wrong. I see you didn’t really like the Lilja Sigurdardottir. I’ve been wondering whether I should read her books or not, I guess I’ll wait some more. Have a great relaxing week 🙂

    • Stormi

      I know, so weird but I am liking it! 🙂 Yeah, I really didn’t like Lilja’s book, it’s the first one I have tried from her so I might try another at some point to see if I just don’t jive with her writing or translations.

    • Stormi

      Fun shows is what I need right now. 🙂 Yeah, I shouldn’t get on Netgalley when I am in a mood…it’s dangerous. 🙂

    • Stormi

      Yeah, I am sure the warm weather will come to an end soon but loving it while it’s here! AcornTV is British TV streaming channel that features, Canadian, Australian, Scottish, Dutch, etc shows. It’s 5.99 and I love it! If you like British comedy and crime shows then you would like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply