Review of The Supernormal Sleuthing Service

July 18, 2017 Book Reviews 12

Review of The Supernormal Sleuthing Service

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy by Gwenda Bond, Chistopher Rowe, Glenn Thomas
Genres: Middle Grade
Published by Greenwillow Books Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Goodreads

Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library meets Hotel Transylvania in the first book of this hilarious and spooky new series that blends mystery with monsters.
Stephen’s dad decided to move the two of them across the country to New York City, where he is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters! Surprise! (Though they prefer to be called supernormals.) And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself. When a magical family heirloom is stolen and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world and clear his name. After all, consequences can be dire in the world of monsters. Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship and humor—perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

Also by this author: Fallout, Double Down (Lois Lane, #2)

          

First Line

Stephen stepped over the low iron fence and past a sign that read “DO NOT WALK ON THE GRASS.”

Here is what I thought

The story starts out at Stephen’s grandmother funeral. Stephen is in for a big surprise on the day they buried his grandmother because he soon realizes that all the stories she told him about her job as a cook for monsters at the Harmonia Hotel was real. Things happen really quickly as his father is knighted as head cook and takes over for his mother. After his father makes a herbal potion and puts it on Stephen it’s then that he can see that most of the people around him were actual monsters.

He has a lot to take in as he finds out his father had been exiled and his mother who was a fairy put herself in exile because of everything that happened. What happens you wonder, well you will have to read and find out. 🙂 Anyway so then Stephen finds out he is half fairy and is worried about it but quickly makes friends with a couple of kids whose parents are also part of the hotel.

Not long after being there Stephen is accused of throwing the great cookbook (can’t remember it’s name) into a gateway. Without that cookbook his father can’t cook for the monsters and things turn disastrous real fast, especially since a big birthday party is coming up.

Someone wants his father to fail and he is determined to find the cookbook and with the help of his friends he gets in a spot of trouble a time or two as he learns there are lots of rules when it comes to human/monster relations.

This was such a fun book and I really liked Stephen, Sophia and Ivan. Ivan is the son of the detective clan and has all sorts of fun gadgets and bottles of things. Sophia’s mom is in charge of diplomacy so she knows the rules more than anyone and how things work even if it doesn’t go as she plans. Stephen is still learning the ropes and coming to terms with being part fairy and how even though he is different he isn’t any different than he was before he is still Stephen, his fathers son and loved.

I am a huge fan of Gwenda Bond after reading her Lois Lane series and so when I seen her name attached to this I knew I needed it and I wasn’t disappointed. I can’t wait to see what kind of trouble the kids will get into next!

Recommend if you like

Middle Grade and paranormal fun.

Author Bio

Gwenda Bond writes YA and children’s fiction. Her novels include the Lois Lane series (Fallout, Double Down), which bring the iconic comic book character front and center in her own YA novels, and the Cirque American series (Girl on a Wire, Girl Over Paris, Girl in the Shadows), about daredevil heroines who discover magic and mystery lurking under the big top. She and her husband author Christopher Rowe will launch a middle grade series, the Supernormal Sleuthing Service, in 2017, and Lois Lane: Triple Threat will be released.

Her nonfiction writing has appeared in Publishers Weekly, Locus Magazine, the Los Angeles Times, and many other publications. She has an MFA in writing from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She lives in a hundred-year-old house in Lexington, Kentucky, with her husband and their unruly pets. There are rumors she escaped from a screwball comedy, and she might have a journalism degree because of her childhood love of Lois Lane. She writes a weekly letter you can sign up for at www.tinyletter.com/gwenda. Visit her online at www.gwendabond.com or @gwenda on Twitter.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Share

12 Responses to “Review of The Supernormal Sleuthing Service”

    • Stormi

      I was a lot of fun, I really liked Ivan the best, he had all sorts of fun things to help them detect.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge