Review of The One That Got Away

April 5, 2015 Book Reviews 4

Review of The One That Got Away

I received this book for free from First To Read in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase
Genres: Chick Lit, Contemporary Romance, Romance
Published by Ballantine Books Pages: 352
on March 31st
Format: eARC
Source: First To Read

Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer — and former flame — Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn.

Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices — and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life — and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

First Line

Every woman has one. That name you Google at two o’clock in the morning.

What I thought of this book

This is normally not my type of read, I accidentally got it some how from First Reads. So I figured since I got it I should at least try it and to my surprise it wasn’t bad. 🙂

Sarina has a pretty good life going  for her, she is getting her architecture business up and running, has a boyfriend who might propose at any time. Life couldn’t be better right? Well, her boyfriend Noah is out of the country on a business merger and Sarina’s one night stand has come back to town and she realizes that she hadn’t really got over that sting of his rejection.

Then she ends up helping him renovate his new home and they spend a lot of time with each other while Noah is away.

Noah and Sarina are really not that compatible, so I think he was just the safety net boyfriend. The great easy going guy who she found herself real comfortable with him. The more you read the more you realize that Noah really doesn’t know Sarina all that much at all and seems to think she will just conform to how he wants things. Such as quit her business to have kids,  the business she is working so hard to start!

Eamon on the other hand is more in tuned to her and her business and thinks what she is doing is great. The more they hang out the more it’s easier for her to start falling for him again.

Although I liked the Main Characters I think it was the secondary characters that I liked the best. Her gay friend Danny and just the whole bunch were quite fun and could make you laugh.

I think I would categorize this as maybe chick lit and contemporary which is something I really don’t read much of at all, but over all I liked this one. So if this is your kind of read then you will probably enjoy it more than I did so go give it a try! 🙂

Reading Challenge

Share

4 Responses to “Review of The One That Got Away”

  1. Berls

    I don’t read much chic lit either, but every now and then it can be fun. Sounds like this was okay, though I’ll probably skip it (seeing as I have so much. I really want to read). Great review. I love that opening line though:)
    Berls recently posted…My TBR List | April 2015 VotingMy Profile

    • Stormi

      Yeah, so many others out there to read..to little time so many books. 🙂

  2. Bea @Bea's Book Nook

    You received it by accident from First to Read? You didn’t mean to click and and request it? I have yet to get a single title that I’ve requested from there. I did receive an unsolicited print copy for review. After reading your review, maybe I’ll give it a chance.
    Bea @Bea’s Book Nook recently posted…Sunday Book Share #135 Easter EditionMy Profile

    • Stormi

      I got an email from First to Read about this book, I clicked it to check it out, but it didn’t mean I wanted it, but then I some how ended up with it so I am not sure what happened..lol. I have only gotten a couple of titles that I have wanted, most of the time I get denied.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge