Review of The Fallen Girls

June 5, 2020 Blog Tours, Book Reviews 1

Review of The Fallen Girls

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Fallen Girls by Kathryn Casey
Genres: Mystery
Published by Bookouture on June 3, 2020
Pages: 341
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

She didn’t notice the corn stalks shiver a few feet to her right. By the time she looked up, the man towered above her. In a single movement he wrapped one thick hand around her waist, the other he clamped over her mouth, muffling her screams.
Detective Clara Jefferies has spent years running from her childhood in Alber, Utah. But when she hears that her baby sister Delilah has disappeared, she knows that the peaceful community will be shattered, her family vulnerable, and that that she must face up to her past and go home.
Clara returns to find that her mother, Ardeth, has isolated her family by moving to the edge of town, in the shadow of the mountains. Ardeth refuses to talk to the police and won’t let Clara through the front door, believing she and her sister-wives can protect their own. But Clara knows better than anyone that her mother isn’t always capable of protecting her children.
When Clara finds out that two more girls have disappeared, all last seen around the cornfields near her family’s home, she realizes it’s not just Delilah who’s in danger. And then she gets a call that a body has been found…
Clara will have to dig deep into the town’s secrets if she’s going to find Delilah. But that will mean confronting the reason she left. And as she gets closer to Delilah, she might be putting her more at risk…
Gripping and spine-chilling, readers will love Detective Clara Jefferies, reading The Fallen Girls deep into the night. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh won’t stop turning the pages of this unforgettable new series from bestselling and award-winning author Kathryn Casey.

Here is what I thought

This is my first time reading this author and I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to see what happens in this series and need to check out other books from this author.

Detective Clara Jefferies gets a call from an old friend that makes her decide to do the one thing she said she would never do, go home. Clara comes from a polygamy community and has several brothers and sisters and things happened that made her decide she needed to leave and someone helped her. Doing so makes her an apostate and shunned by her family so she hasn’t seen any of them in a while.

She gets a call from Max who was once a ‘lost boy’ those in the community who are turned out because they can’t have more guys than girls there or they would run out of wifes to add. He is now the Chief Deputy and Alber his hometown is part of his jurisdiction. They get a note about Delilah is missing, this is one of Clara younger sisters.

Clara finds out her father has died and now it’s just the wives and her mother is the leader and refuses to talk to Clara about Delilah’s disappearance. She keeps saying that she isn’t gone. The police in Alber believe her mother when she says that Delilah went on a mission trip with another family but she won’t give out the information.

Clara knows it’s a lie and can’t understand why nobody wants to help her find her sister. She finds out from Hannah, the lady who helped her, that there are a couple of other missing girls. Clara uses tactics that are not welcome in the community and is always being told to go home. Max is having a hard time because he wants to help her but needs his job at the same time.

I really found this book to be interesting mostly because I don’t know anything about polygamist and can’t say I understand any of it. I have never watched nor cared to watch Sister Wives so I thought this was kind of a refreshing mystery because I got to learn a bit about some interesting people. There way of life though really aggravated me because they could have saved some girls lives if they wouldn’t have been so close minded about their beliefs, though there was some things in that that I got but still it was frustrating.

I liked Clara as a character because she was pretty flawed. She came from a hard background and because of some things that happened back when she was younger it has effected her relationships with people in general but especially men. Max was also a decent character and flawed. He is a widower raising a young girl who was in the same accident that killed his wife and he feels very responsible for what happened and wants to be a good father but also wants to do right by his job.

I thought the mystery was well done even though I figured out who the killer was and kept arguing with the MC that she was wrong…lol. I do think it had a few slow spots but once the first body is found it really picks up and was pretty quick to finish.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good mystery. I am curious to see where this series goes.

Share

One Response to “Review of The Fallen Girls”

Leave a Reply