Review of Rhyme of the Magpie

December 12, 2015 Book Reviews 2

Review of Rhyme of the Magpie

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Rhyme of the Magpie: A Birds of a Feather Mystery by Marty Wingate
Published by Kensington Pages: 262
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For readers of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, the high-flying new Birds of a Feather mystery series from Marty Wingate begins as a British woman gets caught up in a dangerous plot when her celebrity father disappears.   With her personal life in disarray, Julia Lanchester feels she has no option but to quit her job on her father’s hit BBC Two nature show, A Bird in the Hand. Accepting a tourist management position in Smeaton-under-Lyme, a quaint village in the English countryside, Julia throws herself into her new life, delighting sightseers (and a local member of the gentry) with tales of ancient Romans and pillaging Vikings.   But the past is front and center when her father, Rupert, tracks her down in a moment of desperation. Julia refuses to hear him out; his quick remarriage after her mother’s death was one of the reasons Julia flew the coop. But later she gets a distressed call from her new stepmum: Rupert has gone missing. Julia decides to investigate—she owes him that much, at least—and her father’s new assistant, the infuriatingly dapper Michael Sedgwick, offers to help. Little does the unlikely pair realize that awaiting them is a tightly woven nest of lies and murder.  Praise for Marty Wingate
 
“Marty Wingate plants clever clues with a dash of romantic spice to satisfy any hungry mystery reader.”—Mary Daheim, bestselling author of The Alpine Yeoman   “Classy, clever, and utterly charming . . . Brew a pot of tea and settle in with this immensely enjoyable mystery.”—Rosemary Harris, author of Pushing Up Daisies and The Bitches of Brooklyn, on The Garden Plot
"Put the kettle on and settle into a well-crafted village mystery with a delightful new sleuth." —Connie Archer, author of Ladle to the Grave

Also by this author: The Garden Plot, The Red Book of Primrose House, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, Empty Nest, The Skeleton Garden (Potting Shed Mystery #4), Every Trick in the Rook

First Line

Four magpies in their black-and-white court jester outfits strutted about on the payment when I stepped out of my cottage.

What I thought of this book

Rhyme of the Magpie is the first in a new series by Marty Wingate. I really enjoyed her Potting Shed series so I knew I would probably like this one and I did.

Julia is having a hard time dealing with the fact that her dad married her mothers best friend only six months after her mother died. (I would probably have had a problem too.) She was Rupert’s assistant as he has a show on TV called Birds of a Feather, but she quit and moved because she was so mad. Now she works as a tourist manager for a small estate the Lord is trying to get the place more self sufficient.

When Rupert goes missing Julia along with his new assistant Michael go looking for him and end up finding a dead body. That leads them to trying to figure out what it has to do with Rupert. Rupert is opposed to a wind farm that wants to come in because it could disrupt some of the birds there and the environment and those for it are not real happy about him interfering.

The more that Michael and Julia work together the closer that get with each other, but what does Julia really know about Michael. He hasn’t really ever told her what he did before becoming Rupert’s new assistant.

I really enjoyed this mystery and it was interesting learning about the rhyme of the magpies because I had never heard it before. It had a good solid mystery as I didn’t really figure out what was going on till about the same time as Julia.

Though at times Julia was a bit whiny with  things between her and her father, things got better as the book progressed. I mean I totally get how she felt as I would probably acted the same way. I didn’t like how she kept things from the police and didn’t listen to Flint when he said to NOT look around the crime scene until they got there, but I know she was worried about her father. I still wanted to scream at her to don’t do that and put that back…lol. The romance between her and Michael happened pretty fast but they seem like they will be a cute couple.

I enjoyed some of the secondary characters as well and felt sorry for Linus as Julia didn’t seem to be interested in the older gentleman and he likes her. Vesta is my favorite SC and she works with Julia at the TIC.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one and if you like cozy mysteries set in England then you will like this series. 🙂

Reading Challenge

Share

2 Responses to “Review of Rhyme of the Magpie”

  1. Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library

    I’ve enjoyed her potting shed series as well and have a copy of this one. I’m glad you enjoyed it though I have a feeling the flaws that annoyed you will annoy me as well. I definitely agree with what you said about understanding the motive for her investigating on her own. That definitely helps with amateur detectives. I can be a lot more forgiving with them if they’re investigating for a reason and not just being nosy.
    Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library recently posted…When You Are Engulfed in Flames – ReviewMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge