Review of Between a Rock and a Hard Place

August 27, 2015 Book Reviews 4

Review of Between a Rock and a Hard Place

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Marty Wingate
Published by Alibi Pages: 288
on August 4th 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs, Ellery Adams, and Jenn McKinlay, Marty Wingate’s enchanting Potting Shed Mystery series heads to Scotland as Pru Parke plans her wedding . . . all while a vengeful murderer is poised to strike again.    After her romantic idyll with the debonair Detective Chief Inspector Christopher Pearse culminates in a marriage proposal, Pru Parke sets about arranging their nuptials while diving into a short-term gig at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. At hand is the authentication of a journal purportedly penned by eighteenth-century botanist and explorer Archibald Menzies. Compared to the chaos of wedding planning, studying the journal is an agreeable task . . . that is, until a search for a missing cat leads to the discovery of a dead body: One of Pru’s colleagues has been conked on the head with a rock and dumped from a bridge into the Water of Leith.   Pru can’t help wondering if the murder has something to do with the Menzies diary. Is the killer covering up a forgery? Among the police’s many suspects are a fallen aristocrat turned furniture maker, Pru’s overly solicitous assistant, even Pru herself. Now, in the midst of sheer torture by the likes of flamboyant wedding dress designers and eccentric church organists, Pru must also uncover the work of a sly murderer—unless this bride wants to walk down the aisle in handcuffs.

Also by this author: The Garden Plot, The Red Book of Primrose House, The Rhyme of the Magpie: A Birds of a Feather Mystery, Empty Nest, The Skeleton Garden (Potting Shed Mystery #4), Every Trick in the Rook

First Line

Prologue: Three boys in school uniforms, their ties askew now at the end of the day, edged their way over the imaginary line drawn on the pavement by the police constable.

Chapter One: Pru watched Christopher watch the boats. He stood at one of the tall windows, steam rising from the mug of tea he held up to his face.

What I thought of this book

This is book three in The Potting Shed Mysteries and I must say I think it was probably my favorite one of all of them so far.

Pru and Christopher are about to get married but before that Pru takes a three month job in Scotland doing some research on a journal from a known gardener. She is suppose to authenticate it by trying to find out certain information. Iain is not happy to have her there because he says she bought her way into the project. She has no idea what he is talking about and they get in frequent arguments. Alistair who hired her keeps avoiding her and won’t answer her questions about her placement.

She goes about doing her job with an assistant Saskia an tries to ignore Iain as best that she can, then Iain is murdered and she is brought in for questions. Someone told the Inspector that she was seen arguing with the victim before he died. Her fiance DI Christoper comes to spend some time with her and make sure she is okay and to see what is going on with the murder.

Not only is there the mystery behind who killed Iain, but there is also the mystery behind why she got this research job. With all this going on she is also trying to plan a wedding though her friend Jo is doing most of the planning. Her fittings with a wedding designer in Scotland is pretty funny and some of my favorite sections..lol.

Even though I was pretty sure I knew who the killer was, I couldn’t figure out why and when I find out I am like…oh I should have seen that..lol. The author is great with making you think it could be other  characters so that you don’t figure it out right away and I like that.

I really like Pru and Christopher and this book wraps up their relationship really well and if there was no more books it ends well but I do hope there will be more in the series. 🙂 If you like cozy mysteries then I suggest you check out this series as it’s a really good one!

Reading Challenge

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Summer COYER
Share

4 Responses to “Review of Between a Rock and a Hard Place”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge