Review of The Language of Ghosts

September 1, 2020 Book Reviews 3

Review of The Language of Ghosts

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Language of Ghosts by Heather Fawcett
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Adventure
on September 8, 2020
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss

Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Penderwicks meets Howl’s Moving Castle in this thrilling middle grade fantasy adventure about a trio of royal siblings who unlock a long-forgotten magical language in their bid to reclaim their stolen throne—from Ember and the Ice Dragons author Heather Fawcett. Perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Robert Beatty.
Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family’s stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers her older brother, Julian, possesses don’t go to his head in the process. But between babysitting her annoying little sister, Mite, and keeping an eye on the cake-loving sea monster that guards the moving island, Noa has her hands full.
When the siblings learn that their enemies are searching for a weapon capable of defeating Julian—whose legendary spell weaving is feared throughout the kingdom—once and for all, they vow to get to it first. To everyone’s surprise, the key to victory turns out to be a long-lost magical language—and only Noa can speak it.
But what if by helping her brother, Noa ends up losing him?

The Language of Ghosts is a fun fantasy about three siblings who are orphaned when a rebellion kills their mother the Queen and they tried killing the three kids but they were able to get away and sail off.

In this fantasy there are magi who can do certain types of magic and they have different languages for these gifts. Most can just do one language but sometimes there are some who can use all the languages and they are considered dark. The Queen was one and it is what got her killed but her son is also one.

It’s been a few years and Julian along with his two younger sisters have been floating in the ocean on a magical island that Julian and some loyal magi have kept going and been able to keep it invisible from those that are bad. All Julian wants is to keep his sisters safe and conquer the evil guy (whose name I can’t remember) and take his rightful place as King.

Princess Noa is the middle child and possesses no magic which really bothers her especially since her little sister Mita has magic. It’s not until they find out about the lost languages and how they might be a way to defeat the evil that Noa finds out she hasn’t been skipped over in the magic department her magic language had just been hidden.

I thought this was a lot of fun and fast paced and full of adventure. I really liked the characters even though at times they annoyed me but that is all about being children and having them have a bit of growth throughout the story. Jillian has to try and balance being the king his people want and making sure nothing happens to his sisters, plus deal with the fact that he can speak all the languages and some think he is evil. Noa has made it her mission to make sure that her brother doesn’t turn evil and some things he does it makes her wonder if she is to late. Mita just needs to work on not blowing things up with her magic! 🙂

Overall, I thought this was a lot of fun and I think adults as well as young readers could enjoy this one! I say give it a try!

Share

3 Responses to “Review of The Language of Ghosts”

Leave a Reply