It’s Monday! What are you reading!

Posted February 24, 2014 by Stormi in Memes / 7 Comments

Mondays!It’s Monday! What are you reading is hosted by Sheila of Book Journey. It’s were we let everyone know what we have recently read, are currently reading and might read next. It’s a good way to find more delicious novels to put on your TBR pile. (As if I need help with that..lol)

Finished:

Thefixer

The Fixer by T.E. Woods

An enigmatic vigilante known as The Fixer steps into the lives of the most depraved criminals and balances thwarted scales of justice. For those who employ her, she’s their last hope. For her targets, she’s an inescapable date with righteous payback. And for The Fixer, each contract she accepts is a futile effort to silence her own demons. In her latest assignment she violates every rule that has kept her safe. The Fixer is trapped into serving as personal assassin for an invisible employer who strips her of the safety she’s deluded herself existed. As she begins to mentally unravel, she knows her only hope for survival is to identify and destroy her controller.

When Mort Grant, Chief of Detectives for the Seattle PD, learns the death of a prominent university faculty member wasn’t the heart attack it was designed to look like, he uncovers the dark underbelly of animal research and academic politics. Where sex is as viable a currency as a million dollar grant and power is held with an iron grasp. His search for the killer puts him on the trail of The Fixer. Mort encounters Lydia Corriger, a talented psychologist, with a beautiful and mysterious new patient who mystifies her and tests her considerable clinical skills. Together, Mort and Lydia work to untangle a complex weave of sadistic cruelty, sexual manipulation, and limitless money that finds them fighting for their sanity and their lives.

I enjoyed this crime drama and I will be looking forward to the future novels in this series and anything from this new author. (review)

Animals Cover_MOCKUP.indd

Wild Born by Brandon Mull

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts – a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children – and the world – have been changed forever.

Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both. A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world. Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers . . . and on you.

Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game – discover your spirit animal and join the adventure in Fall 2013.

Good start to a new MG series! (review)

SAHunted

Hunted by Maggie Stiefvater The adventure continues in this second book of the epic multiplatform fantasy series.

In the world of Erdas, only a rare few are able to summon a spirit animal in the way Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have. The bond they share with their animals is a partnership that allows them to access more-than-human abilities.

But what if there was another way to create a spirit animal–to force the bond, giving the human partner total control? And what if someone with selfish intensions was offered this gift . . . with a catch?

The four young heroes have barely had time to come together as a team, and their own spirit animal bonds are still greatly untested. But now they face a brutal confrontation against an enemy who will break any rule to defeat them.

This one was good too and my first series where the authors are different with each book. (review)

Currently reading:

cruelB

Cruel Beauty by Rosemund Hodge

The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in a dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday, when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom’s mountaintop, nothing is as she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband.

Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can’t resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who’s gotten in her way by stealing her heart.

31% into this and you know, I just don’t really sure about this one.  So far Nyx is just a bit to whiny for me. It’s repetitive as I don’t need to know over and over that she has to kill him or how she feels about her sister, etc.

 

Next up:

goodcrook

Good Crooks by Mary Amato

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children’s choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture.

When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather.

They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Sounds cute..lol.

 

Thechase

Internationally renowned thief and con artist Nicolas Fox is famous for running elaborate and daring scams. His greatest con of all: convincing the FBI to team him up with the only person who has ever caught him, and the only woman to ever capture his attention, Special Agent Kate O’Hare.

Together they’ll go undercover to swindle and catch the world’s most wanted—and untouchable—criminals. Their newest target is Carter Grove, a former White House chief of staff and the ruthless leader of a private security agency. Grove has stolen a rare Chinese artifact from the Smithsonian, a crime that will torpedo U.S. relations with China if it ever becomes public. Nick and Kate must work under the radar—and against the clock—to devise a plan to steal the piece back. Confronting Grove’s elite assassins, Nick and Kate rely on the skills of their ragtag crew, including a flamboyant actor, a Geek Squad techie, and a band of AARP-card-carrying mercenaries led by none other than Kate’s dad.

The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldburg A daring heist and a deadly chase lead Nick and Kate from Washington, D.C., to Shanghai, from the highlands of Scotland to the underbelly of Montreal. But it’ll take more than death threats, trained henchmen, sleepless nights, and the fate of a dynasty’s priceless heirloom to outsmart Fox and O’Hare.

What are you reading?

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Share

Tags:

Divider

7 responses to “It’s Monday! What are you reading!

  1. Good Crooks looks cute and I’ll have to check out The Chase because I’ve read books by Janet Evanovich and I’ve read books by Lee Goldberg before, and enjoyed them all, so it would be cool to see how they write together! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

Leave a Reply