Friday Meme’s ~ The Girl in the Maze

Posted February 5, 2016 by Stormi in Misc. / 24 Comments

BMR,Friday's MemeSince there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

 

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

Girl in the Maze

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, R. K. Jackson’s lyrical, twisty psychological thriller debut follows an aspiring journalist as she uncovers dark truths in a seaswept Southern town—aided by a mysterious outcast and pursued by a ruthless killer.

When Martha Covington moves to Amberleen, Georgia, after her release from a psychiatric ward, she thinks her breakdown is behind her. A small town with a rich history, Amberleen feels like a fresh start. Taking a summer internship with the local historical society, Martha is tasked with gathering the stories of the Geechee residents of nearby Shell Heap Island, the descendants of slaves who have lived by their own traditions for the last three hundred years.

As Martha delves into her work, the voices she thought she left behind start whispering again, and she begins to doubt her recovery. When a grisly murder occurs, Martha finds herself at the center of a perfect storm—and she’s the perfect suspect. Without a soul to vouch for her innocence or her sanity, Martha disappears into the wilderness, battling the pull of madness and struggling to piece together a supernatural puzzle of age-old resentments, broken promises, and cold-blooded murder. She finds an unexpected ally in a handsome young man fighting his own battles. With his help, Martha journeys through a terrifying labyrinth—to find the truth and clear her name, if she can survive to tell the tale.

This one is coming up on my list to read. I have to finish up a book I am reading first then I will be digging into this one. I think it sounds really good so I can’t wait.

Prologue:

She wants to kill you.

Chapter One:

Ten Months later Martha sat on an iron bench in front of the Wash-a-Fold and watched a column of ants as they marched away carrying crumbs from the smashed corner of a ham sandwich.

Well, the first sentence of the prologue was pretty interesting…lol, but the chapter one first paragraph was not as interesting.

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

“I’ve been reading up about schizophrenia,” Nick said. “It’s pretty unusual for someone with that condition to turn violent, especially without any warning.” Nick turned the pepper shaker in a half circle, turned it back. “Well, there were signs, you know,” Morris said. “She was just concealing them from you. I’m sure you heard about what was happening out at the Pritchett place.”

Well, now this sounds interesting! 🙂

book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

Does your significant other share your reading passion?

I don’t have a significant other. If I did though I would hope he would be a reader.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Share

Tags:

Divider

24 responses to “Friday Meme’s ~ The Girl in the Maze

    • Stormi

      This one is called The Girl in the Maze, not train. 🙂 Two different books, but I also have The Girl in the Train to listen too! 🙂 I am curious to see how things go with this book.

  1. Ooh! This one sounds really good! I’ve read both Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins and loved them, so I’ll have to check this one out! Thanks for sharing! Thanks, also, for visiting my blog! Happy reading!

  2. You know, I don’t usually read thrillers, but I might make an exception for this one, as it sounds absolutely RIVETING!! I’m reminded of Hitchcock here. I love some of his movies (except for “The Birds”).

    Since you don’t have a significant other right now, today’s BBH question doesn’t really apply to you. If and when you do have a romantic partner, though, you can make sure he’s a book lover by taking him to a bookstore to see how he reacts. Of course, if he has other qualities you like, you can keep him anyway! Lol.

    Happy Friday, and a GREAT weekend!! : )

  3. That is a killer (sorry, couldn’t resist) first sentence in the prologue. This one looks good. I’ve been wanting to read Gillian Flynn and I did read Girl on the Train, which was okay… I like the sound of this one.

  4. Sounds like a great book to me. The prologue got my attention quick. No…hubby does not care to read books. He does read magazines and most anything on facebook. LOL He does a lot of surfing on the internet and keeps up on current events.

  5. I don’t need my partner to share my passion for reading. Just that he understand and give me my time to read. Right now I don’t have a significant other, so I read all I want:)

  6. Yes, the first sentence of the prologue is quite an eye-opener! The Girl in the Maze sounds like it will be good.

    My husband is a reader, although not as crazy about books as I am. I have an aunt who loves to read and my uncle doesn’t like it. It makes me sad that she can’t read whenever she wants. He’ll be watching a sports game on television and won’t let her read . . . It’s hard for me to fathom. But she obviously has her reasons for putting up with it.

Leave a Reply