Friday Meme’s: Death Before Decaf

November 6, 2015 Memes 27

BMR,Friday's MemeSince there are a few Friday Meme’s that I want to participate in I have decided to post them all in one post.

featurefollowFeature and Follow Friday is hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee.

If you could take the place of one author, which author would it be and what changes would you make in his/her writing style? – Suggested by NJKinny’s World of Books & Stuff

This has got to be the worlds hardest questions!!!

So going with the first author that popped into my head. I would like to take the place of Stephen King as he is the master of horror and I would like to dip into that brain of his and see how he does it. I am not sure I would change much as his style seems to work for him but maybe make them not so long and wordy. 🙂

book beginnings memeBook Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader. Take the first sentence of your current read and post it.

Death by Decaf

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.

After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.

The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.

I am sure by now you are tired of my horror books so you get a reprieve this week as I have a cozy for you instead….lol.

This has been a fun cozy, very funny! I had to be careful while reading this at work that I didn’t laugh out loud! 🙂 After reading this cozy I think I need to let others know that it’s a little different than what some might care for. Lot’s of romantic angst between the tough guy and the best friend she has know since she was young. I personally like Pete better.  It also has a granny with a mouth that is a bit on the naughty side…lol. I hasn’t bothered me much but it might others.

The moment I set foot inside Java Jive, I felt like I was home. The place looked exactly the same as it had the first time I walked through the door over ten years ago, and the pervasive aroma of freshly brewed coffee still hung heavy in the air.
Friday 56

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda @ Freda’s Voice. It’s like Tuesday  Teaser but  you have a specific place in your read that you have to turn in your read (page 56 or 56%) to get your teaser.

“You don’t need to know all of my secrets.”

“Touche. It’s just that I’ve never met a woman who doesn’t have a ton of junk packed into her house. You people collect junk.”

My eyebrows shot up. “You people?”

“Women.”

I rested my chin on my hands forlornly. “I used to have junk.”

“What happened to it?”

“If you must know, my dickhead fiancé stole all my junk and all of the money from my cafe and left me. Pathetic, right? Now do you still want to hang around with me?”

His face softened. “Sorry, I didn’t know. What kind of a guy steals all of a woman’s junk?”

Let me tell you poor Juliet really had not much of anything. Her fiancé did take everything and she has to live in a college apartment complex right now cause it’s the cheapest thing she could find.

book blogger hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer.  Each week we are asked a question to answer so it reminds me a bit of FF and so I thought it made a good fit to my other Friday Memes.

As you are reading a book, do you take notes for your reviews, write your reviews as you read, or something totally different?

I always say I am going to take notes, etc but most of the time I never do. I just read a book and right what I liked or didn’t like about it. If something really hits me I might make note, but once I get to reading note taking just disappears as I read the book…lol. I think if I start to take lots of notes and stop and start and stop and start I would never get that many books read and it might feel like homework…lol. 🙂

Share

27 Responses to “Friday Meme’s: Death Before Decaf”

    • Stormi

      🙂 Well, 1000+ pages is a bit long…lol. 🙂 I never was one for pages and pages and pages of description without dialogue, though I do like his books. :)I tend to skim…lol.

    • Stormi

      I wouldn’t really either but it would be fun to be in SK’s mind to see how is horror mind works. 🙂

  1. Nicole

    At first I wanted to feel sorry for the girl but hearing her response had me chuckling too much to continue to feel that way. Happy Friday!

    • Stormi

      Yeah, she took everything in stride. She manages to keep going even though lots of bad things was happening to her. 🙂

  2. kimbacaffeinate

    Death before Decaf indeed..this sounds hilarious! I don’t take notes either Stormi..I get lost in the book, then thumb through later for name spelling or specific dates. I will occasionally use a sticky or highlight a passage.

    • Stormi

      It was a lot of fun! Yeah, I always have to skim and find the spelling for names. 🙂 I always think I should write them down but never do.

  3. Kristine

    I agree! I love Stephen King, but when I wanted to compare Under the Dome to the TV show, I was surprised to find the book was over 1000 pages!

    I’m going to start Death Before Decaf this week! I look forward to reading your review.

    Old follower! 😀

Leave a Reply