2021 Most anticipated Middle Grade books (First Quarter)

December 28, 2020 Misc. 2

I can’t believe I am making a most anticipated list for 2021 already!!! I am making two list because I had just way to many Middle Grade books to talk about. So you are getting one for the kids books and one for all the other books. 🙂 I think there is only one author on this list that I have actually read before!

They all sound so good! I am not going to have time for them all but I want them all! 🙂 I have made a note by the ones that I actually have as ARC or eARC, it’s not as many as I would like…lol.

January

January 5th

City of the Plague God by Sarwat Chaddaan adventure based on ancient Mesopotamian mythology. Characters from the Epic of Gilgamesh populate this high-stakes contemporary adventure in which all of Manhattan is threatened by the ancient god of plagues. It’s 400 pages and from Rick Riordan Presents.

Oh My Gods (OMG #1) by Stephanie Cooke – Karen is just an average thirteen-year-old from New Jersey who loves to play video games with her friends and watch movies with her mom. But when she moves to Greece to live with her eccentric, mysterious father, Zed, suddenly everything she thought about herself—about life—is up in the air. Ends up at a school for gods and goddesses. It’s a graphic novel and sounds cute. It’s 208 pages from HMH Books for Young Readers

January 7th

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes – Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to escape her life in the Nest of a Thousand Treasures. When she steals a house-shaped ornament from a mysterious woman’s purse. Inside are some interesting characters that hope Nine can break the spell they are under. It’s 240 pages from Walker Books.

January 12th

Alone by Megan  E. Freeman – When twelve-year-old Maddie hatches a scheme for a secret sleepover with her two best friends, she ends up waking up to a nightmare. She’s alone—left behind in a town that has been mysteriously evacuated and abandoned. It has 416 pages from Simon and Schuster. (I have an ARC)

THe Nightmare Thief by Nicole Lesperance – A girl. A dream shop. And a nightmare thief, determined to get revenge. Maren breaks a rule and a new customer from the shop has been following Maren and knows what she did. And the stranger has laid the perfect trap to blackmail Maren into creating custom nightmares for a dark and terrible purpose. It has 304 pages from Sourcebook for young readers. (I have an eARC)

 

Clues to the Universe by Christina Li – The only thing Rosalind Ling Geraghty loves more than watching NASA launches with her dad is building rockets with him. When he dies unexpectedly, all Ro has left of him is an unfinished model rocket they had been working on together.

Benjamin Burns doesn’t like science, but he can’t get enough of Spacebound, a popular comic book series. When he finds a sketch that suggests that his dad created the comics, he’s thrilled. Too bad his dad walked out years ago, and Benji has no way to contact him. Two unlikely friends will face bullies, grief and their own differences. It has 304 pages from Quill Tree Press (HarperCollin imprint). (I Have an eARC)

January 19th

Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter by Melissa Savage – While staying in a haunted Colorado hotel for her father’s ghost-hunting television series, Karma Moon must battle her anxiety, interpret the signs of the universe, and get footage of a real ghost–you know, the usual. It has 352 pages Crown Books.

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston – Quinton Peters was the golden boy of the Rosewood low-income housing projects, receiving full scholarship offers to two different Ivy League schools. When he mysteriously goes missing, his little sister, 13-year-old Amari Peters, can’t understand why it’s not a bigger deal. Why isn’t his story all over the news? And why do the police automatically assume he was into something illegal?

Then Amari discovers a ticking briefcase in her brother’s old closet. A briefcase meant for her eyes only. There was far more to Quinton, it seems, than she ever knew. He’s left her a nomination for a summer tryout at the secretive Bureau of Supernatural Affairs. It has 416 pages from Blazer and Bray (I have an eARC)

January 26th

Chef Yasmina and the Potato Panic – In this silly, action-packed graphic novel, a young chef is the only one who can protect her town from an onslaught of scientifically enhanced, highly addictive potatoes. And after just one bite their behavior changes—they slobber, chase cats, and howl at the moon. What’s the secret ingredient in these potatoes that has everyone acting like a bunch of crazed canines? Yasmina needs to find a cure, and fast! It has 160 pages from First Second Books.

February

 February 2nd

The Boy Who Failed Show and Tell by Jordan Sonnenblick – in a typical school year, every kid has one or two things go wrong. But for Jordan, there’s A LOT going wrong ALL THE TIME. Take this year. Here are some of the thing going wrong:

— His teacher hates him. Like, really hates him. Like, is totally out to get him even when he’s trying to be good, and is willing to fail him on the simplest things, like show and tell.  Has a snake that has way to many babies! There are bullies ready to stomp him when all he has to defend himself with is a lunchbox.

By keeping his cool (some of the time), banging on the drums (a lot), and keeping his sense of humor (all the time), Jordan’s going to try to make it through the year . . . and grow up to write a book about it! It has 224 pages from Scholastic Press. 

February 23rd

The Hedgehog of Oz by Cory LeonardoThe Wizard of Oz meets The Wind in the Willows in this next middle grade novel from the author of The Simple Art of Flying, in which a theater-dwelling, Oz-loving hedgehog goes on the journey of a lifetime to find his way home in this tale of loyalty, friendship, loss, and hope. It has 400 pages from Aladdin books.

March

March 1st

Alessia in Atlantis: The Forbidden Vial by Nathalie Laine It’s not unusual for twelve-year-old Alessia to lose control of her emotions and create a scene at school.

It IS unusual when one day she’s attacked there by a giant frog monster and plunged into the underwater realm of Atlantis in an overturned boat. It has 313 pages from Independent Book Publisher Association.

March 2nd

Delphine and the Silver Needle by Alyssa Moon – To unravel any mystery, find the knot.

When Delphine, a young orphaned dressmaker mouse living in the walls of Cinderella’s château, stumbles upon an enormous secret, it upends everything she thought she knew: The magical tailor mice of legend really existed. Racing to stay ahead of King Midnight, the fearsome leader of the rats who is bent on harnessing age-old magic, Delphine embarks on an epic quest to uncover the truth about the past. Joined by Alexander, the most pompous noblemouse in the royal court, she travels a perilous route, encountering strange enemies and unlikely allies along the way. Can Delphine uncover the truth and save the kingdom? Or will the evil King Midnight succeed in harnessing the power of the tailor mice? This action-packed novel is sure to be a hit with readers who like magic, adventure, and very tiny heroes with very big hearts. It has 320 pages from Disney Hyperion.

March 2nd

The Memory Thief by Jodi Lynn Anderson – From acclaimed and New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes the fantastical and heartfelt first installment in a new trilogy about the thirteen witches who are responsible for all the evil in the world—and the girl who sets out to defeat them. Full of magic and bittersweet truths, this tale is perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon. It has 336 pages from Aladdin books.

March 4th

Mort the Meek and the Raven’s Revenge by Rachel Delahaye – The first in a wickedly funny new series about an aspiring pacifist in a brutal kingdom!

On Brutalia violence is a way of life. Ravenous ravens circle overhead, monstrous grot bears cause chaos and the streets are bulging with brawls. But Mort isn’t like the other islanders – he’s determined to live peacefully. His struggle is made even tougher when the cruel queen appoints Mort as Royal Executioner. No one has challenged the royals and lived to tell the tale. Can Mort keep his head and outwit the queen? It has 224 pages from Little Tiger Press.

March 9th

The Wild Huntsboys by Martin Stewart – Luka doesn’t believe in fairies, but when his sister asks him to take care of her fairies he agrees because he is going to miss her, but then he breaks his promise and things get ugly. Fairies are real and not happy at the way he has treated them. With the aid of his new friends–a savvy techie, a quiet evacuee, and an unlikely ally–Luka has three days to turn his house into a fortress. But his problems are even more complicated than he thought: it’s not just the faeries who are out to get the Wild Huntsboys . . .

If Luka fails, those closest to him will pay the price–and time is running out. It has 320 pages from Viking Books.

March 16th

Across the Pond by Joy McCullough – Callie can’t wait for her new life to start. After a major friendship breakup in San Diego, moving overseas to Scotland gives her the perfect chance to reinvent herself. On top of that, she’s going to live in a real-life castle! (castle is run down) Inspired by a journal that she finds hidden in her bedroom, Callie decides to join a birding club. Sure, it sounds unusual, but at least it’s not sports or performing. But when she clashes with the club leader, she risks losing a set of friends all over again. Will she ever be able to find her flock and make this strange new place feel like home? It has 288 pages from Atheneum Books.

(This is the only author on this list I have read before! I enjoyed her book A Field Guide to Getting Lost, it was on my Surprising books of 2020!)

March 30th

The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda FoodyA boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon. It has 304 pages from Margaret K. McElderry Books.

All You Knead is Love by Tanya Guerrero – Twelve-year-old Alba doesn’t want to live with her estranged grandmother in Barcelona.

But her mother needs her to be far, far away from their home in New York City. Because this is the year that her mother is going to leave Alba’s abusive father. Hopefully. If she’s strong enough to finally, finally do it.

Alba is surprised to find that she loves Barcelona, forming a close relationship with her grandmother, meeting a supportive father figure, and making new friends. Most of all, she discovers a passion and talent for bread baking. When her beloved bakery is threatened with closure, Alba is determined to find a way to save it—and at the same time, she may just come up with a plan to make their family whole again. It has 336 from McMillan books.

And there you have it a lot of really fun looking Middle Grade books!!

Share

2 Responses to “2021 Most anticipated Middle Grade books (First Quarter)”

Leave a Reply